Planning application · Wicklow County Council

The omission of the previously permitted 4 storey Block 1 at Upper Main Street, Arklow

Upper Main Street, Arklow, Co. Wicklow

2560756 · WicklowGranted

up to 6 storeys · 2.7 ha · Granted · permission to Apr 2031

Planning application 2560756 to Wicklow County Council: The omission of the previously permitted 4 storey Block 1, which comprised 19 no. apartment units. the reconfiguration of Block 2, at Upper Main Street, Arklow. Granted by the council on 4 March 2026. The register gives the permission's end as 6 April 2031.

Timeline

  1. Application lodged
  2. Further information requested
  3. Further information received
  4. Council granted
  5. Permission ends (date on the register)

The end date is the one the council register states. An extension or a commencement changes it.

Key facts

Reference
2560756
Planning authority
Wicklow County Council
Received
24 Sept 2025
Decided
4 Mar 2026
Status
Granted
Use
Residential
Dwellings (estimated)
18
Read from the description, not stated on the register.
Site area
2.7 ha
Further information requested
12 Nov 2025
Further information received
10 Feb 2026

Homes and mix

  • Creche
  • Public open space
  • 169 car parking spaces

Read from the description, not stated on the register. Shown only where the parts add up to the total.

Proposed development

the omission of the previously permitted 4 storey Block 1, which comprised 19 no. apartment units (3 no. 1 bed and 16 no. 3 bed) • the reconfiguration of Block 2, increasing the number of units from 16 no. (13 no. 2 bed and 3 no. 3 bed) units to 18 no. (1 no. studio, 3 no. 1 bed and 14 no. 2 bed) along with reduction in building height from 7 to 6 storeys and associated elevation changes to balconies and window openings and provision of private open space and communal open space. • the omission of the previously permitted Block 3, which comprised 10 no. apartment units (9 no. 2 bed and 1 no. 3 bed), to be replaced with 3-storey 3 no. 4 bed dwelling units. • the replacement of 20 no. permitted 4 bed housing units along the riverwalk with 3-storey 32 no. duplex units (16 no. 2 bed and 16 no. 3 bed units) and associated services. • the relocation of surface car parking at the site to accommodate the provision of 3-storey 12 no. duplex units (6 no. 2 bed and 6 no. 3 bed units) and associated services. • reconfiguration of the permitted 146.3 sqm childcare facility, including alteration of associated private open space. • an increase from the permitted 810 sqm to 818.9 sqm of communal open space on foot of the amendments to the typology and mix proposed. • an increase from the permitted 4188 sqm to 4354.98 sqm of public open space on foot of the amended site layout. • a reduction from the permitted 169 car parking spaces to 162 car parking spaces and increase from the permitted 177 bicycle spaces to 203 bicycle spaces. • revised internal road layout to facilitate development associated with this amendment. • amendments to the drainage layout to reflect the proposed amendments. • all associated site development works, boundary treatments, landscaping, retaining walls, bin stores, bike parking and site services necessary to facilitate the proposed amendments

Planning status

Permission was granted on 4 Mar 2026. The four-week appeal period has passed with no appeal recorded, so the permission is final. Works can start once a commencement notice is lodged; the register gives its end as 6 Apr 2031.

For the applicant

Is this your application?

Say it is yours and you will see which building firms and trades have asked to work on it, with the contact details they chose to leave. It is free and takes an email address. Nothing is shared with anyone unless you choose to contact them.

Sign in to claim itNo cold calls. Nothing is shared unless you choose to.
Free tool · no account needed

Buying or upgrading a home? Get a free solar, SEAI grant and deep-retrofit report.

Enter an address to see its solar potential, the full SEAI grant it qualifies for, and the BER-uplift economics of a deep retrofit - in one report, in minutes.

Nearby applications

Other applications on the Wicklow register close to this address.

All Wicklow planning applications

Related

About this page: the facts above come from the statutory public planning register kept by Wicklow County Council and are refreshed weekly (last updated 21 Sept 2026). Applicant names and contact details are not shown. Status labels are PlanningLeads' plain-language reading of the register status and the "Use" label is classified by AI from the public description (see how we use AI); neither is legal advice and the council's file is the record. How we handle this data: privacy notice.

Remove my application from this page

If this is your application and you would rather it did not appear here, tell us and we will take the page down. No account, no questions asked: we only email you a link to confirm it was you. This is your right to object under GDPR Article 21.