Planning application · Wicklow County Council

Demolition of existing derelict buildings at Upper Main Street, Arklow

Upper Main Street, Arklow, Co. Wicklow

2484 · WicklowGranted

up to 7 storeys · 2.7 ha · Granted · permission to Dec 2029

Planning application 2484 to Wicklow County Council: Demolition of existing derelict buildings; construction of 99 residential units comprising 59 no. apartments with four blocks, at Upper Main Street, Arklow. Granted by the council on 29 October 2024. The register gives the permission's end as 3 December 2029.

Timeline

  1. Application lodged
  2. Further information requested
  3. Further information received
  4. Council granted
  5. Permission ends (date on the register)

The end date is the one the council register states. An extension or a commencement changes it.

Key facts

Reference
2484
Planning authority
Wicklow County Council
Received
23 Feb 2024
Decided
29 Oct 2024
Status
Granted
Use
Mixed_use
Dwellings (estimated)
99
Read from the description, not stated on the register.
Site area
2.7 ha
Further information requested
16 Apr 2024
Further information received
5 Sept 2024

Homes and mix

Houses40
Apartments and duplexes59
Total homes99
  • Creche
  • Public open space
  • 169 car parking spaces
  • 196 cycle parking spaces
  • 2 ESB substations

Read from the description, not stated on the register. Shown only where the parts add up to the total.

Proposed development

demolition of existing derelict buildings (1292 sqm); construction of 99 residential units comprising 59 no. apartments with four blocks, ranging in height from 4 to 7 storeys (7 no. 1 bed units, 42 no. 2 bed units and 10 no. 3 bed units) and 40 no. 3 storey houses (20 no. 4 bed units); construction of a 350 sqm mixed use building of four storeys containing 350 sqm of retail space at ground floor and residential units above; refurbishment, extension and change of use from a derelict two storey house to a 146.3 sqm creche; refurbishment of the former Ormonde Cinema (Record of Protected Structure Ref. A39) for commercial use comprising 322.5 sqm office at first floor and 32 sqm office, 181 sqm lounge/café and 59 sqm café uses at ground floor; relocation of a Victorian letterbox (Record of Protected Structure Ref. A40) within the scheme; provision of public open space including a new amphitheatre, a new plaza, communal and private open space; provision of internal access roads with vehicular, pedestrian and cyclist access and new vehicular access onto Upper Main Street; 169 no. car parking spaces and 196 no. bicycle parking spaces provided at basement and surface level; realignment of Coomie Lane to create a new pedestrian links between Vale Road, Upper Main Street and the River Avoca walkway; all associated and ancillary site development works above and below ground, including signage, 2 no. ESB substations, alteration to existing landscape features, play area, sculpture, retaining walls, clearance works, landscaping, excavation, bin stores, boundary treatments and services provision

Planning status

Permission was granted on 29 Oct 2024. The four-week appeal period has passed with no appeal recorded, so the permission is final. Works can start once a commencement notice is lodged; the register gives its end as 3 Dec 2029.

For the applicant

Is this your application?

Say it is yours and you will see which building firms and trades have asked to work on it, with the contact details they chose to leave. It is free and takes an email address. Nothing is shared with anyone unless you choose to contact them.

Sign in to claim itNo cold calls. Nothing is shared unless you choose to.
Free tool · no account needed

Planning something similar? Check whether you need permission at all.

Since the 2026 regulations many smaller projects are exempt. Answer a few questions about your own job and get the verdict with the regulation it rests on - in about a minute.

Nearby applications

Other applications on the Wicklow register close to this address.

All Wicklow planning applications

Related

About this page: the facts above come from the statutory public planning register kept by Wicklow County Council and are refreshed weekly (last updated 30 Sept 2026). Applicant names and contact details are not shown. Status labels are PlanningLeads' plain-language reading of the register status and the "Use" label is classified by AI from the public description (see how we use AI); neither is legal advice and the council's file is the record. How we handle this data: privacy notice.

Remove my application from this page

If this is your application and you would rather it did not appear here, tell us and we will take the page down. No account, no questions asked: we only email you a link to confirm it was you. This is your right to object under GDPR Article 21.