Planning application · Clare County Council

12 no. 2MW Hydrotreated Vegetable Oil generators at Drumline

Drumline, Co. Clare

2560529 · ClareIn AssessmentUnder appeal

1.214 ha · Under appeal since November 2025

Planning application 2560529 to Clare County Council: 12 no. 2MW Hydrotreated Vegetable Oil generators; 6 no. self-bunded 69m3 HVO tanks; 6no. self-bunded 6m3 AdBlu tanks, at Drumline. Now under appeal to An Coimisiún Pleanála.

Timeline

  1. Application lodged
  2. Council decided
  3. Appealed to An Coimisiún Pleanála

Key facts

Reference
2560529
Planning authority
Clare County Council
Received
29 Aug 2025
Decided
23 Oct 2025
Status
In Assessment
Use
Utilities
Floor area (estimated)
182 m²
Read from the description, not stated on the register.
Site area
1.214 ha
Appeal
PL-500313-CE-25

Homes and mix

  • ESB substations

Read from the description, not stated on the register. Shown only where the parts add up to the total.

Proposed development

for (a) 12 no. 2MW Hydrotreated Vegetable Oil (HVO) generators; (b) 6 no. self-bunded 69m3 HVO tanks; (c) 6no. self-bunded 6m3 AdBlu tanks; (d) a 182m2 electrical/control building: (e ) a customer electrical compound complete with a transformer; (f) an ESB compound connected to the existing adjacent 110kV ESB substation situated immediately east of the proposed development; (g) a fuel loading bay complete with a 7,700L forecourt separator; (h) on site surface soakaways; (i) task lighting columns; (j) 3m high perimeter security fencing and compound separation; (k) new road entrance off the R458; (l) all associated internal access roads, car parking, surface water collection, ducting as required to deliver the works. The proposed development will include connection to public water mains. There is no sewer connection required as foul and process waste will be collected in an underground sealed tank and emptied by a specialist waste service provider. An Appropriate Assessment Screening Report has been prepared for the site. The application relates to a development which comprises an activity requiring an industrial Emissions Directive (IED) licence.

Planning status

The decision has been appealed to An Coimisiún Pleanála. The appeal outcome replaces the council decision.

Appeal PL-500313-CE-25 on the An Coimisiún Pleanála website ↗

For the applicant

Is this your application?

Say it is yours and you will see which building firms and trades have asked to work on it, with the contact details they chose to leave. It is free and takes an email address. Nothing is shared with anyone unless you choose to contact them.

Sign in to claim itNo cold calls. Nothing is shared unless you choose to.
Free tool · no account needed

Buying or upgrading a home? Get a free solar, SEAI grant and deep-retrofit report.

Enter an address to see its solar potential, the full SEAI grant it qualifies for, and the BER-uplift economics of a deep retrofit - in one report, in minutes.

Nearby applications

Other applications on the Clare register close to this address.

All Clare planning applications

Related

About this page: the facts above come from the statutory public planning register kept by Clare County Council and are refreshed weekly (last updated 12 Oct 2026). Applicant names and contact details are not shown. Status labels are PlanningLeads' plain-language reading of the register status and the "Use" label is classified by AI from the public description (see how we use AI); neither is legal advice and the council's file is the record. How we handle this data: privacy notice.

Remove my application from this page

If this is your application and you would rather it did not appear here, tell us and we will take the page down. No account, no questions asked: we only email you a link to confirm it was you. This is your right to object under GDPR Article 21.