Planning application · Wicklow County Council

Demolition of the existing Tesco supermarket at c. 1.66 ha at Tesco, Bollarney South

c. 1.66 ha at Tesco, Bollarney South, Wicklow

2660584 · WicklowLodged

up to 2 storeys · 1.66 ha · Lodged

Planning application 2660584 to Wicklow County Council: Demolition of the existing Tesco supermarket and the construction of a new two storey structure incorporating an atrium, at c. 1.66 ha at Tesco, Bollarney South.

Timeline

  1. Application lodged
  2. Further information requested

Key facts

Reference
2660584
Planning authority
Wicklow County Council
Received
26 Jun 2026
Status
Lodged
Use
Retail
Floor area (estimated)
6,864 m²
Read from the description, not stated on the register.
Site area
1.66 ha
Further information requested
12 Aug 2026

Homes and mix

  • 286 car parking spaces
  • 50 cycle parking spaces
  • ESB substations

Read from the description, not stated on the register. Shown only where the parts add up to the total.

Proposed development

(i) Demolition of the existing Tesco supermarket (c. 2,799 sqm gross floor area) and the construction of a new two storey structure (c. 6,864 sqm gross floor area) incorporating an atrium, lobby entrances and undercroft car parking at grade and a retail unit (c. 3,577 sqm net sales area) at first floor level, the retail unit will include an ancillary alcohol sales area, bulk store, customer facilities at first floor level, and staff facilities at mezzanine level; (ii) provision of a service yard at first floor level with marshalling area and a grocery home shopping delivery vehicle docking area; (iii) provision of a new 'service only' access from Church Hill road and minor alterations to the existing road layout including the provision of a pedestrian crossing; (iv) provision of a signalised junction onto the Dublin Road and alterations to the existing road layout to improve vehicular, cyclist, and pedestrian safety, including the renewal and reinstatement of road markings, associated traffic signage, and the provision of a pedestrian crossing at the customer vehicular entrance; (v) 286 no. car parking spaces providing a combination of surface-level and undercroft car parking (including parent and child, accessible and electric vehicle parking spaces), provision of 2 no. dedicated “Click and Collect” spaces, 50 no. cycle parking spaces, and set down/loading bay areas; (vi) 2 no. elevational signs on the Dublin Road elevation; (vii) ESB substation (c. 43 sqm), pump house, sprinkler tank, attenuation tank, feature and street lighting, standby generator set, plant deck at roof level, store canopy, trolley shelter/bays, and all associated ancillary infrastructure; (viii) all ancillary site development works including tree and vegetation removal, retaining structures, landscaping, boundary treatments, enabling works, and site services. A Natura Impact Statement (NIS) is submitted with the application

Planning status

The application has been lodged and validated. The council has eight weeks to decide, unless it asks for further information.

For the applicant

Is this your application?

Say it is yours and you will see which building firms and trades have asked to work on it, with the contact details they chose to leave. It is free and takes an email address. Nothing is shared with anyone unless you choose to contact them.

Sign in to claim itNo cold calls. Nothing is shared unless you choose to.
Free tool · no account needed

Buying or upgrading a home? Get a free solar, SEAI grant and deep-retrofit report.

Enter an address to see its solar potential, the full SEAI grant it qualifies for, and the BER-uplift economics of a deep retrofit - in one report, in minutes.

Nearby applications

Other applications on the Wicklow register close to this address.

All Wicklow planning applications

Related

About this page: the facts above come from the statutory public planning register kept by Wicklow County Council and are refreshed weekly (last updated 6 Oct 2026). Applicant names and contact details are not shown. Status labels are PlanningLeads' plain-language reading of the register status and the "Use" label is classified by AI from the public description (see how we use AI); neither is legal advice and the council's file is the record. How we handle this data: privacy notice.

Remove my application from this page

If this is your application and you would rather it did not appear here, tell us and we will take the page down. No account, no questions asked: we only email you a link to confirm it was you. This is your right to object under GDPR Article 21.