Planning application · Wicklow County Council

1 no. ICT facility building with a gross floor area of c. 36,655 sq.m

Site located at and to the east of Avoca River Park, Arklow, Co. Wicklow

2560594 · WicklowGranted

14.4 ha · Granted · permission to Jun 2031

Planning application 2560594 to Wicklow County Council: 1 no. ICT facility building with a gross floor area of c. 36,655 sq.m, at to the east of Avoca River Park, Arklow. Granted by the council on 24 April 2026. The register gives the permission's end as 1 June 2031.

Timeline

  1. Application lodged
  2. Further information requested
  3. Further information received
  4. Council granted
  5. Permission ends (date on the register)

The end date is the one the council register states. An extension or a commencement changes it.

Key facts

Reference
2560594
Planning authority
Wicklow County Council
Received
1 Aug 2025
Decided
24 Apr 2026
Status
Granted
Use
Data_centre
Floor area (estimated)
45,511 m²
Read from the description, not stated on the register.
Site area
14.4 ha
Further information requested
24 Sept 2025
Further information received
15 Jan 2026

Homes and mix

  • 104 car parking spaces
  • 100 cycle parking spaces

Read from the description, not stated on the register. Shown only where the parts add up to the total.

Proposed development

1 no. ICT facility building with a gross floor area (GFA) of c. 36,655 sq.m and a total parapet height of c.19.5m. • 2 no. ICT facilities each with a GFA of c. 4,428 sq.m and a total parapet height of c. 10.5m. • Each of the ICT facilities will accommodate ICT equipment rooms, external mechanical equipment areas, electrical equipment rooms, network rooms, ancillary office space, storage and loading bays; • The construction of a solar farm development consisting of photovoltaic (PV) panel arrays covering an area of approximately c. 2.7 ha in the east of the site, on ground mounted steel frames, underground cabling and ducting, a new gated internal track for maintenance and all associated site services works; • Relocation of the customer transformer compound permitted under WCC Reg. Ref.: 21/1080 as amended by WCC Reg. Ref.: 23/843; • The provision of process water and domestic water split tanks, process water and domestic water plantrooms, rainwater harvesting tanks, chlorine dosing kiosk, sprinkler pump rooms, sprinkler tanks, fire hydrant pump room and hydrant tank; • The provision of an internal road network and circulation areas, footpaths, 104 no. car parking spaces and 100 no. cycle parking spaces; • The construction site access arrangements and amendments to the internal road network permitted under WCC Reg. Ref.: 21/1080 as amended by WCC Reg. Ref.: 23/843; • Landscaping and planting, boundary treatments, site lighting, security fencing, all associated site works including underground foul and storm water drainage network, Sustainable Urban Drainage Systems (SuDS) measures, and utility cables, and all ancillary works. The operation of the proposed development will require an EPA Industrial Emissions Directive (IE) Licence. An Environmental Impact Assessment Report (EIAR) has been prepared

Planning status

Permission was granted on 24 Apr 2026. The four-week appeal period has passed with no appeal recorded, so the permission is final. Works can start once a commencement notice is lodged; the register gives its end as 1 Jun 2031.

For the applicant

Is this your application?

Say it is yours and you will see which building firms and trades have asked to work on it, with the contact details they chose to leave. It is free and takes an email address. Nothing is shared with anyone unless you choose to contact them.

Sign in to claim itNo cold calls. Nothing is shared unless you choose to.
Free tool · no account needed

Buying or upgrading a home? Get a free solar, SEAI grant and deep-retrofit report.

Enter an address to see its solar potential, the full SEAI grant it qualifies for, and the BER-uplift economics of a deep retrofit - in one report, in minutes.

Nearby applications

Other applications on the Wicklow register close to this address.

All Wicklow planning applications

Related

About this page: the facts above come from the statutory public planning register kept by Wicklow County Council and are refreshed weekly (last updated 21 Sept 2026). Applicant names and contact details are not shown. Status labels are PlanningLeads' plain-language reading of the register status and the "Use" label is classified by AI from the public description (see how we use AI); neither is legal advice and the council's file is the record. How we handle this data: privacy notice.

Remove my application from this page

If this is your application and you would rather it did not appear here, tell us and we will take the page down. No account, no questions asked: we only email you a link to confirm it was you. This is your right to object under GDPR Article 21.