Planning application · Westmeath County Council

Retained development, and for proposed development and change of use at Knockdrin Castle, Knockdrin

Knockdrin Castle, Knockdrin, Co. Westmeath

2560402 · WestmeathGranted

10.48 ha · Granted · permission to Jul 2031

Planning application 2560402 to Westmeath County Council: Retained development, and for proposed development and change of use, all at Knockdrin Castle and within its curtilage. Granted by the council on 24 June 2026. The register gives the permission's end as 28 July 2031.

Timeline

  1. Application lodged
  2. Further information requested
  3. Further information received
  4. Council granted
  5. Permission ends (date on the register)

The end date is the one the council register states. An extension or a commencement changes it.

Key facts

Reference
2560402
Planning authority
Westmeath County Council
Received
8 Aug 2025
Decided
24 Jun 2026
Status
Granted
Use
Mixed_use
Dwellings (estimated)
12
Read from the description, not stated on the register.
Site area
10.48 ha
Further information requested
2 Oct 2025
Further information received
18 Mar 2026

Homes and mix

  • 74 car parking spaces

Read from the description, not stated on the register. Shown only where the parts add up to the total.

Proposed development

for retained development, and for proposed development and change of use, all at Knockdrin Castle and within its curtilage (a Protected Structure – RPS Ref: 012-022), a site of circa. 10.48 hectares. A Natura Impact Statement (NIS) accompanies this application. The development for which retention is sought comprises: 1. The restoration and refurbishment of Knockdrin Castle (a Protected Structure – RPS Ref: 012-022), including 12 no. guest bedrooms, ground floor dining area, bar, ballroom and kitchen. 2. The retention of replacement kitchen windows to the rear of the building and replacement of modern conservatory extension to the east side of the building. 3. Retention of drainage services, water supply services, wastewater services (100PE concrete sewage treatment system discharging to 165 sqm percolation area), utilities, and fire safety services associated with the above restoration and refurbishment works. 4. Works to the Knockdrin Castle entrance gates & lodges (North & South – Protected Structures – RPS Ref: 012-020 & 012-021 respectively), as include the provision of new entrance gates. The proposed development for which permission is sought comprises: 1. Proposed change of use of Knockdrin Castle from residential to an events and hospitality venue as incorporates dining and overnight accommodation. 2. Proposed use of existing vehicular access points to the R394 as comprise the Knockdrin Castle gate lodge, south (a Protected Structure – RPS Ref: 012-021) and secondary, north entrance gateway (a Protected Structure – RPS Ref: 012-020) to serve the development. 3. Proposed partial realignment of existing wall adjacent to the secondary, north entrance gateway (a Protected Structure – RPS Ref: 012-020) for the provision of improved sightlines. 4. Proposed enhancements to internal access roads, as includes continuation of existing access route to front curtilage of Knockdrin Castle, and all associated vehicular and pedestrian wayfinding signage. 5. Proposed provision of 74 no. car parking spaces (including 4 no. accessible parking spaces) and 2 no. coach parking spaces to serve the operational and customer needs of the development. 6. Proposed enclosed waste storage area in the internal courtyard of Knockdrin Castle. 7. Proposed hard and soft landscaping works, as include the restoration and enhancement of formal gardens, pedestrian footpaths, enhanced reception area to front curtilages of Knockdrin Castle, and proposed external lighting.

Planning status

Permission was granted on 24 Jun 2026. The four-week appeal period has passed with no appeal recorded, so the permission is final. Works can start once a commencement notice is lodged; the register gives its end as 28 Jul 2031.

For the applicant

Is this your application?

Say it is yours and you will see which building firms and trades have asked to work on it, with the contact details they chose to leave. It is free and takes an email address. Nothing is shared with anyone unless you choose to contact them.

Sign in to claim itNo cold calls. Nothing is shared unless you choose to.
Free tool · no account needed

Planning something similar? Check whether you need permission at all.

Since the 2026 regulations many smaller projects are exempt. Answer a few questions about your own job and get the verdict with the regulation it rests on - in about a minute.

Related

About this page: the facts above come from the statutory public planning register kept by Westmeath County Council and are refreshed weekly (last updated 21 Sept 2026). Applicant names and contact details are not shown. Status labels are PlanningLeads' plain-language reading of the register status and the "Use" label is classified by AI from the public description (see how we use AI); neither is legal advice and the council's file is the record. How we handle this data: privacy notice.

Remove my application from this page

If this is your application and you would rather it did not appear here, tell us and we will take the page down. No account, no questions asked: we only email you a link to confirm it was you. This is your right to object under GDPR Article 21.