Planning application · Westmeath County Council

Construction of a large-scale residential development [LRD] of 125 at Killucan Road, Kinnegad

Killucan Road, Kinnegad, Co Westmeath

2560240 · WestmeathGrantedAppeal decided

up to 2 storeys · 3.87 ha · Appeal decided, February 2026

Planning application 2560240 to Westmeath County Council: Construction of a large-scale residential development [LRD] of 125 no. residential units and a childcare facility as follows, at Killucan Road, Kinnegad. Granted by the council on 25 September 2025; An Coimisiún Pleanála decided the appeal on 16 February 2026.

Timeline

  1. Application lodged
  2. Further information requested
  3. Further information received
  4. Council granted
  5. Appealed to An Coimisiún Pleanála
  6. Appeal decided

Key facts

Reference
2560240
Planning authority
Westmeath County Council
Received
15 May 2025
Decided
25 Sept 2025
Status
Granted
Use
Mixed_use
Dwellings (estimated)
125
Read from the description, not stated on the register.
Floor area
12,105 m²
Site area
3.87 ha
Further information requested
8 Jul 2025
Further information received
29 Aug 2025
Appeal
ACP-323815-25 · Appeal decided

Homes and mix

Houses103
Apartments and duplexes22
Total homes125
  • Creche
  • 215 car parking spaces
  • 8 cycle parking spaces

Read from the description, not stated on the register. Shown only where the parts add up to the total.

Proposed development

construction of a large-scale residential development [LRD] of 125 no. residential units (103 no. houses and 22 no. apartments) and a childcare facility as follows: (A) The residential provision will comprise: 11 no. two-storey 2 bed terrace units (98 sq. m. gross floor area each), 56 no. two-storey 3 bed terrace units (112.1 sq. m. gross floor area each) and 26 no. two-storey 4 bed terrace units (135.1 sq. m. gross floor area each), 10 no. two-storey 4 bed detached and semi-detached units (ranging in size from 122.1 sq. m. to 137.4 sq. m. gross floor area each) and 22 no. apartment units consisting of 2 no. 2 bed units (ranging in size from 75 sq. m. to 80.2 sq. m. gross floor area each) in each of 11 no. two-storey detached blocks; (B) The single storey childcare facility will comprise 303 sq. metres gross floor area; (C) Access is at an existing priority junction at the L1015 Killucan Road and access for pedestrians and cyclists only (and emergency vehicular access) is at Manorfield to the southeast; (D) The proposed site layout provides a total of 215 no. car parking spaces as follows: 165 no. allocated spaces for 125 no. residential units, 30 no. visitor spaces, 4 no. EV charging spaces and 2 no. disabled spaces and 14 no. spaces including 1 no. disabled space at the childcare facility; (E) Secure bicycle parking including visitor bicycle parking is provided at each residential unit and 8 no. bicycle parking spaces are provided at the childcare facility; and (F) The development will also comprise the removal of the roads and services infrastructure constructed pursuant to permission Reg. Ref. 04/5310 [ABP Ref. No. PL.25M.211056], and the construction of the network of internal roads, cycle ways and footpaths, public open spaces (c. 0.54 ha. in total), landscaping, boundary treatment works, solar PV panels on the childcare facility and each residential unit, site services, and all ancillary and associated works on a site of c. 3.87 ha.

Planning status

An Coimisiún Pleanála concluded the appeal on 16 Feb 2026. The official file has the outcome.

Appeal ACP-323815-25 on the An Coimisiún Pleanála website ↗

For the applicant

Is this your application?

Say it is yours and you will see which building firms and trades have asked to work on it, with the contact details they chose to leave. It is free and takes an email address. Nothing is shared with anyone unless you choose to contact them.

Sign in to claim itNo cold calls. Nothing is shared unless you choose to.
Free tool · no account needed

Buying or upgrading a home? Get a free solar, SEAI grant and deep-retrofit report.

Enter an address to see its solar potential, the full SEAI grant it qualifies for, and the BER-uplift economics of a deep retrofit - in one report, in minutes.

Nearby applications

Other applications on the Westmeath register close to this address.

All Westmeath planning applications

Related

About this page: the facts above come from the statutory public planning register kept by Westmeath County Council and are refreshed weekly (last updated 21 Sept 2026). Applicant names and contact details are not shown. Status labels are PlanningLeads' plain-language reading of the register status and the "Use" label is classified by AI from the public description (see how we use AI); neither is legal advice and the council's file is the record. How we handle this data: privacy notice.

Remove my application from this page

If this is your application and you would rather it did not appear here, tell us and we will take the page down. No account, no questions asked: we only email you a link to confirm it was you. This is your right to object under GDPR Article 21.