Planning application · Waterford City and County Council

Large-Scale Residential Development at Duckspool, Dungarvan

Duckspool, Dungarvan, Co. Waterford

2560097 · WaterfordOn SiteAppeal decided

up to 3 storeys · 5.065 ha · Appeal decided, August 2025

Planning application 2560097 to Waterford City and County Council: Large-Scale Residential Development consisting of the construction of 155 no. dwelling, at Duckspool, Dungarvan. Granted by the council on 16 April 2025; An Coimisiún Pleanála decided the appeal on 22 August 2025. Work commenced on 19 December 2025.

Timeline

  1. Application lodged
  2. Council granted
  3. Appealed to An Coimisiún Pleanála
  4. Appeal decided
  5. Work commenced

Key facts

Reference
2560097
Planning authority
Waterford City and County Council
Received
20 Feb 2025
Decided
16 Apr 2025
Status
On Site
Use
Residential
Dwellings (estimated)
155
Read from the description, not stated on the register.
Floor area
14,802 m²
Site area
5.065 ha
Commenced
19 Dec 2025
Appeal
ABP-322509-25 · Appeal decided

Homes and mix

1-bed24
2-bed18
3-bed83
4-bed30
Total homes155
  • Creche

Read from the description, not stated on the register. Shown only where the parts add up to the total.

Proposed development

Large-Scale Residential Development (LRD) consisting of the construction of 155 no. dwelling comprising (a) 5 no. two-storey 4-bed detached houses all with optional attic conversion, (b) 48 no. two-storey 3-bed semi-detached houses 30 no. with optional attic conversion, (c) 10 no. two-storey 4-bed semi-detached houses 7 no. with optional attic conversion, (d) 6 no. two-storey 4-bed terraced houses all with optional attic conversion, (e) 35 no. 3-bed two-storey terraced houses 23 no. with optional attic conversion, (f) 8 no. three-storey 4-bed semi-detached houses, (g) 1 no. three-storey 4-bed terraced house, (h) 42 no. apartments in 4 no. three storey duplex apartment blocks with 24 no. 1 bed and 18 no. 2 bed units and a 3-classroom single-storey creche, on an application site of 5.065ha (4.366ha net). The proposed development will include alterations along the existing public road frontage, a spine road with footpaths and cycle access from the public road (LR3168) to serve the proposed development, adjacent lands including existing GAA grounds, lands zoned for new residential, residential strategic reserve and community infrastructure. The proposed development also includes all internal roads and footpaths, bicycle and car parking, public open spaces, foul and surface drainage services and connections, water services and connections; street lighting; landscaping, boundary treatments, alterations of site levels and all ancillary site development works at Duckspool, Dungarvan, County Waterford. A Natura Impact Assessment (NIS) has been prepared and will be submitted to the planning authority with this application. The NIS will be available for inspection or purchase at a fee not exceeding the reasonable cost of making a copy during office hours at the offices of the Planning Authority. The application may be inspected online at the following website set up by the applicant; www.duckspoollrd.com

Planning status

An Coimisiún Pleanála concluded the appeal on 22 Aug 2025. The official file has the outcome.

Appeal ABP-322509-25 on the An Coimisiún Pleanála website ↗

For the applicant

Is this your application?

Say it is yours and you will see which building firms and trades have asked to work on it, with the contact details they chose to leave. It is free and takes an email address. Nothing is shared with anyone unless you choose to contact them.

Sign in to claim itNo cold calls. Nothing is shared unless you choose to.
Free tool · no account needed

Planning something similar? Check whether you need permission at all.

Since the 2026 regulations many smaller projects are exempt. Answer a few questions about your own job and get the verdict with the regulation it rests on - in about a minute.

Nearby applications

Other applications on the Waterford register close to this address.

All Waterford planning applications

Related

About this page: the facts above come from the statutory public planning register kept by Waterford City and County Council and are refreshed weekly (last updated 21 Sept 2026). Applicant names and contact details are not shown. Status labels are PlanningLeads' plain-language reading of the register status and the "Use" label is classified by AI from the public description (see how we use AI); neither is legal advice and the council's file is the record. How we handle this data: privacy notice.

Remove my application from this page

If this is your application and you would rather it did not appear here, tell us and we will take the page down. No account, no questions asked: we only email you a link to confirm it was you. This is your right to object under GDPR Article 21.