Planning application · Tipperary County Council

The extensive refurbishment of the building at Abbey Street, Cahir

Abbey Street, Cahir, Co. Tipperary

2561361 · TipperaryGranted

up to 2 storeys · 0.036 ha · Granted · permission to May 2031

Planning application 2561361 to Tipperary County Council: The extensive refurbishment of the building and the demolition of a single storey component to the rear elevation, at Abbey Street, Cahir. Granted by the council on 23 April 2026. The register gives the permission's end as 26 May 2031.

Timeline

  1. Application lodged
  2. Further information requested
  3. Further information received
  4. Council granted
  5. Permission ends (date on the register)

The end date is the one the council register states. An extension or a commencement changes it.

Key facts

Reference
2561361
Planning authority
Tipperary County Council
Received
23 Dec 2025
Decided
23 Apr 2026
Status
Granted
Use
Residential
Dwellings (estimated)
6
Read from the description, not stated on the register.
Site area
0.036 ha
Further information requested
24 Feb 2026
Further information received
31 Mar 2026

Homes and mix

Apartments and duplexes6
1-bed2
2-bed4
Total homes6

Read from the description, not stated on the register. Shown only where the parts add up to the total.

Proposed development

1) the extensive refurbishment of the building and the demolition of a single storey component to the rear elevation, 2) the construction of a two storey modern extension to the rear elevation and also, there will be various alterations to the exterior facades of the existing building, 3) the development of six apartments consisting of 4 two bedroom apartments and 2 one bed apartments, 4) the upgrade and improvement works to the wastewater and stormwater connections, 5) the material change of use from commercial space to residential units, 6) the construction of a bin storage area, bike stands, parking area, footpaths, hard and soft landscaping areas and all associated site works

Planning status

Permission was granted on 23 Apr 2026. The four-week appeal period has passed with no appeal recorded, so the permission is final. Works can start once a commencement notice is lodged; the register gives its end as 26 May 2031.

For the applicant

Is this your application?

Say it is yours and you will see which building firms and trades have asked to work on it, with the contact details they chose to leave. It is free and takes an email address. Nothing is shared with anyone unless you choose to contact them.

Sign in to claim itNo cold calls. Nothing is shared unless you choose to.
Free tool · no account needed

Planning something similar? Check whether you need permission at all.

Since the 2026 regulations many smaller projects are exempt. Answer a few questions about your own job and get the verdict with the regulation it rests on - in about a minute.

Nearby applications

Other applications on the Tipperary register close to this address.

All Tipperary planning applications

Related

About this page: the facts above come from the statutory public planning register kept by Tipperary County Council and are refreshed weekly (last updated 21 Sept 2026). Applicant names and contact details are not shown. Status labels are PlanningLeads' plain-language reading of the register status and the "Use" label is classified by AI from the public description (see how we use AI); neither is legal advice and the council's file is the record. How we handle this data: privacy notice.

Remove my application from this page

If this is your application and you would rather it did not appear here, tell us and we will take the page down. No account, no questions asked: we only email you a link to confirm it was you. This is your right to object under GDPR Article 21.