Planning application · South Dublin County Council

Demolition of existing single storey vacant house, garage at Grange Castle Business Park, Nangor Road

Grange Castle Business Park, Nangor Road, Clondalkin, Dublin 22

SD20A/0283/EP · South DublinGranted

up to 4 storeys · 16.23 ha · Granted · permission to Jul 2031 (estimate)

Planning application SD20A/0283/EP to South Dublin County Council: Demolition of existing single storey vacant house, garage and outhouse (total gross floor area c.291.2sq.m), at Grange Castle Business Park, Nangor Road, Clondalkin. Granted by the council on 21 July 2026. The permission normally runs to July 2031 (an estimate: the grant plus five years).

Timeline

  1. Application lodged
  2. Council granted
  3. Permission normally ends (estimate)

The end date is an estimate: the grant plus five years, the normal life of a permission. An extension or a commencement changes it.

Key facts

Reference
SD20A/0283/EP
Planning authority
South Dublin County Council
Received
27 May 2026
Decided
21 Jul 2026
Status
Granted
Use
Data_centre
Floor area (estimated)
3,520 m²
Read from the description, not stated on the register.
Site area
16.23 ha

Homes and mix

  • 40 cycle parking spaces

Read from the description, not stated on the register. Shown only where the parts add up to the total.

Proposed development

Demolition of existing single storey vacant house, garage and outhouse (total gross floor area (GFA) c.291.2sq.m) and removal of existing temporary construction car park; Construction of a single 1-4 storey Central Administration Building and 2 2-storey (with mezzanine) data centres (DUB14 & DUB15) all to be located west of data centres DUB9, DUB10, DUB12 & DUB13 within the MS campus; The Central Administration Building (c.6.03m to c.19.85m high) will comprise central office administration, with staff cafeteria, staff gym and reception (GFA c.3,520sq.m), with provision of PV panels on the roof; each data centre (c.15.6m high to parapet height and c.18.65m to top of roof plant) will include data halls, admin blocks (comprising offices, canteen, loading dock, storage and ancillary areas) and a variety of mechanical and electrical plant areas/structures including Modular Electrical Rooms (MERs), battery rooms and transformer areas. GFA of DUB14 is c.28,072sq.m and GFA of DUB15 is c.28,173sq.m (c.56,246sq.m in total); DUB14 will also include 21 diesel generators and associated sub-stations (E-houses) and 11 mechanical flues (each c.30.75m high); Provision of a gas generator compound (to serve DUB15) containing 20 generators, 5 E-houses and 5 flues (c.25m max height); Provision of a Gas Networks Ireland gas skid including 3 kiosk buildings; Expansion of existing electrical sub-station compound (originally granted under SD07A/0632) to provide 3 additional transformer bays. 3 E-houses and 1 control room, 2 auxiliary transformers; 2 sprinkler tank and pump house areas, 1 additional rainwater harvesting plant; Provision of 168 permanent car parking spaces and 40 cycle parking spaces; Provision of additional western access to the MS campus (to serves the Central Administration Building) from the Business Park estate road (including bridge over the Griffeen River) with existing temporary access to be extinguished; Physical integration with the remainder of the existing MS campus (including internal access roads and landscaping) with associated modifications to the western boundary of the DUB09/DUB10/DUB12/DUB13 data centre development as permitted under SD16A/0088; Provision of a new temporary construction car park (with 802 car spaces, shuttle bus stop and shelter) on site north of the main entrance to the business park; Total gross floor area of the development will be c.59,766sq.m; All associated site development works, drainage and services provision, landscaping, boundary treatments (including security fencing) and associated works; An Environmental Impact Assessment Report (EIAR) has been submitted with this application; The application relates to a development which comprises an activity requiring an integrated pollution prevention and control (IE) licence.

Planning status

Permission was granted on 21 Jul 2026. The four-week appeal period has passed with no appeal recorded, so the permission is final. Works can start once a commencement notice is lodged; the permission normally runs to Jul 2031 (estimate).

For the applicant

Is this your application?

Say it is yours and you will see which building firms and trades have asked to work on it, with the contact details they chose to leave. It is free and takes an email address. Nothing is shared with anyone unless you choose to contact them.

Sign in to claim itNo cold calls. Nothing is shared unless you choose to.
Free tool · no account needed

Buying or upgrading a home? Get a free solar, SEAI grant and deep-retrofit report.

Enter an address to see its solar potential, the full SEAI grant it qualifies for, and the BER-uplift economics of a deep retrofit - in one report, in minutes.

Nearby applications

Other applications on the South Dublin register close to this address.

All South Dublin planning applications

Related

About this page: the facts above come from the statutory public planning register kept by South Dublin County Council and are refreshed weekly (last updated 2 Sept 2026). Applicant names and contact details are not shown. Status labels are PlanningLeads' plain-language reading of the register status and the "Use" label is classified by AI from the public description (see how we use AI); neither is legal advice and the council's file is the record. How we handle this data: privacy notice.

Remove my application from this page

If this is your application and you would rather it did not appear here, tell us and we will take the page down. No account, no questions asked: we only email you a link to confirm it was you. This is your right to object under GDPR Article 21.