Planning application · Offaly County Council

Demolition/removal of the existing school and removal of temporary buildings

COLÁISTE ÍOSAGÁIN KILMALOGUE, PORTARLINGTON, CO. OFFALY R32 HV25

24100 · OffalyGranted

up to 3 storeys · 6.2 ha · Granted · permission to Oct 2029

Planning application 24100 to Offaly County Council: Demolition/removal of the existing school and removal of temporary buildings, construction of a new permanent part 3-storey, at ColÁIste ÍOsagÁin Kilmalogue, Portarlington. Granted by the council on 20 September 2024. The register gives the permission's end as 30 October 2029.

Timeline

  1. Application lodged
  2. Council granted
  3. Permission ends (date on the register)

The end date is the one the council register states. An extension or a commencement changes it.

Key facts

Reference
24100
Planning authority
Offaly County Council
Received
29 Jul 2024
Decided
20 Sept 2024
Status
Granted
Floor area (estimated)
12,646 m²
Read from the description, not stated on the register.
Site area
6.2 ha

Homes and mix

  • 120 cycle parking spaces
  • ESB substations

Read from the description, not stated on the register. Shown only where the parts add up to the total.

Proposed development

DEVELOPMENT ON A SITE MEASURING APPROXIMATELY 6.2 HECTARES AT COLÁISTE ÍOSAGÁIN, KILMALOGUE, PORTARLINGTON, CO. OFFALY, R32 HV25. THE DEVELOPMENT WILL CONSIST OF: (i) DEMOLITION/REMOVAL OF THE EXISTING SCHOOL AND REMOVAL OF TEMPORARY BUILDINGS, (ii) CONSTRUCTION OF A NEW PERMANENT PART 3-STOREY, PART 2-STOREY POST PRIMARY SCHOOL BUILDING FOR COLÁISTE ÍOSAGÁIN, PORTARLINGTON (12,646.3 SQ.M FLOOR AREA) WITH ASSOCIATED EXTERNAL SIGNAGE. THE CONSTITUENT ELEMENTS OF THE NEW SCHOOL COMPRISE (a) 48 GENERAL CLASSROOMS, 24 SPECIALIST TEACHING ROOMS WITH ASSOCIATED PREPARATION ROOMS, 4 SPECIAL NEEDS CLASSROOMS WITHIN A SPECIAL EDUCATIONAL NEEDS SUITE, DOUBLE HEIGHT MP HALL AND ASSOCIATED PE ANCILLARY ACCOMMODATION, LIBRARY, STAFFROOM, ADMINISTRATION ROOMS, TOILETS, STORES AND GENERAL ANCILLARY ACCOMMODATION AND A DOUBLE HEIGHT GENERAL PURPOSE HALL WITH ASSOCIATED KITCHEN AND STORE. (iii) EXTERNAL COVERED AREA, EXTERNAL CONSTRUCTION STUDIES STORE, BIN STORE, AIR SOURCE HEAT PUMP COMPOUND AND ESB SUBSTATION (iv) SITE DEVELOPMENT WORKS INCLUDING REVISIONS TO VEHICULAR/PEDESTRIAN ACCESS ARRANGEMENTS TO PROVIDE CAR PARKING AND SET-DOWN SPACES INCLUDING 104 NO. STANDARD CAR PARKING SPACES FOR STAFF/VISITORS, 6 NO. UNIVERSALLY ACCESSIBLE PARKING SPACES, 120 NO. CYCLE PARKING SPACES, TEMPORARY AND PERMANENT VEHICULAR ACCESS AND CYCLE/PEDESTRIAN ACCESS ONTO BOG ROAD; (iv) 7 NO. HARD PLAY/MUGA COURTS (v) ROOF MOUNTED PHOTOVOLTAIC ARRAY. THE PROPOSED DEVELOPMENT ALSO INCLUDES HARD & SOFT LANDSCAPING, RESOURCE AREAS, ACTIVITY COURTYARDS, SEN GARDEN/PLAY SPACES, A GRASS PITCH, ASSOCIATED SITE AND SERVICE INFRASTRUCTURE WORKS. FOLLOWING A REQUIREMENT OF OFFALY COUNTY COUNCIL, A NATURA IMPACT STATEMENT WILL BE SUBMITTED TO THE PLANNING AUTHORITY IN CONNECTION WITH THE APPLICATION.

Planning status

Permission was granted on 20 Sept 2024. The four-week appeal period has passed with no appeal recorded, so the permission is final. Works can start once a commencement notice is lodged; the register gives its end as 30 Oct 2029.

For the applicant

Is this your application?

Say it is yours and you will see which building firms and trades have asked to work on it, with the contact details they chose to leave. It is free and takes an email address. Nothing is shared with anyone unless you choose to contact them.

Sign in to claim itNo cold calls. Nothing is shared unless you choose to.
Free tool · no account needed

Buying or upgrading a home? Get a free solar, SEAI grant and deep-retrofit report.

Enter an address to see its solar potential, the full SEAI grant it qualifies for, and the BER-uplift economics of a deep retrofit - in one report, in minutes.

Nearby applications

Other applications on the Offaly register close to this address.

All Offaly planning applications

Related

About this page: the facts above come from the statutory public planning register kept by Offaly County Council and are refreshed weekly (last updated 21 Sept 2026). Applicant names and contact details are not shown. Status labels are PlanningLeads' plain-language reading of the register status and the "Use" label is classified by AI from the public description (see how we use AI); neither is legal advice and the council's file is the record. How we handle this data: privacy notice.

Remove my application from this page

If this is your application and you would rather it did not appear here, tell us and we will take the page down. No account, no questions asked: we only email you a link to confirm it was you. This is your right to object under GDPR Article 21.