Planning application · Meath County Council

Construction of a two storey, discount foodstore at Athboy Road (R933) and the Old Athboy Road, Trim

Athboy Road (R933) and the Old Athboy Road, Trim, Co. Meath.

2660981 · MeathLodged

up to 2 storeys · 1.76 ha · Lodged

Planning application 2660981 to Meath County Council: Construction of a two storey, discount foodstore with ancillary off-license sales area and a gross floor area of 2,476sqms, at Athboy Road (R933) and the Old Athboy Road, Trim. A council decision is due by 26 September 2026.

Timeline

  1. Application lodged
  2. Council decision due

Key facts

Reference
2660981
Planning authority
Meath County Council
Received
2 Aug 2026
Decision due
26 Sept 2026
Status
Lodged
Use
Retail
Floor area (estimated)
2,476 m²
Read from the description, not stated on the register.
Site area
1.76 ha

Homes and mix

  • ESB substations

Read from the description, not stated on the register. Shown only where the parts add up to the total.

Proposed development

the construction of a two storey, discount foodstore with ancillary off-license sales area and a gross floor area of 2,476sqms and a net sales area of 1,507sqms. Construction of surface level car parking spaces, including electrical vehicle (EV) charging spaces and pre-wiring of other spaces to accommodate future EV parking; cycle stands; trolley bay shelter; hard and soft landscaping and boundary treatments including retaining structures; ESB substation building; site lighting; mechanical plant area; roof mounted photovoltaic panels; all advertising signage including two “flagpole” signs at the entrance and one next to the northern west boundary. Vehicular access and egress; on site drainage infrastructure including SUDS measures; connection to existing foul and surface water drains and water supply infrastructure. The existing drainage ditch within the site of the new foodstore will be infilled to allow for the construction of the proposed development. The existing headwalls (relating to existing surface water drains located under the R154 and the R933) will be demolished to allow the two to be joined by a new culvert to accommodate construction of the proposed car park and landscaping area located in the northeastern corner of the replacement store site. The works also include the provision of a new compensatory flood storage area within the site to replace the existing flood storage capacity associated with the drainage ditch. The proposed compensatory flood storage area is located within the car park of the existing Lidl foodstore resulting in a reduction and reorganisation of the car park associated with that structure. The pedestrian access to the north of the existing foodstore will also be moved to allow for the compensatory flood storage area. The development includes footpath and cycle lane upgrades along the east and south boundaries of the proposed new foodstore. All other associated works required to complete the development. The application is accompanied by a Natura Impact Statement

Planning status

The application has been lodged and validated. The council has eight weeks to decide, unless it asks for further information. The council's decision is due by 26 Sept 2026.

For the applicant

Is this your application?

Say it is yours and you will see which building firms and trades have asked to work on it, with the contact details they chose to leave. It is free and takes an email address. Nothing is shared with anyone unless you choose to contact them.

Sign in to claim itNo cold calls. Nothing is shared unless you choose to.
Free tool · no account needed

Buying or upgrading a home? Get a free solar, SEAI grant and deep-retrofit report.

Enter an address to see its solar potential, the full SEAI grant it qualifies for, and the BER-uplift economics of a deep retrofit - in one report, in minutes.

Nearby applications

Other applications on the Meath register close to this address.

All Meath planning applications

Related

About this page: the facts above come from the statutory public planning register kept by Meath County Council and are refreshed weekly (last updated 5 Oct 2026). Applicant names and contact details are not shown. Status labels are PlanningLeads' plain-language reading of the register status and the "Use" label is classified by AI from the public description (see how we use AI); neither is legal advice and the council's file is the record. How we handle this data: privacy notice.

Remove my application from this page

If this is your application and you would rather it did not appear here, tell us and we will take the page down. No account, no questions asked: we only email you a link to confirm it was you. This is your right to object under GDPR Article 21.