Planning application · Meath County Council

The proposed development is at former Joe Molloy’s Bookmakers (Derelict site Ref. Number DS-1044)

Site at former Joe Molloy’s Bookmakers (Derelict site Ref. Number DS-1044)., Main Street Clonee, County Meath D15 X036

2460197 · MeathGranted

up to 5 storeys · 0.17 ha · Granted · permission to Nov 2029

Planning application 2460197 to Meath County Council: The proposed development is for a 2-5 storey mixed use building on the former Joe Molloy’s Bookmakers site, Main Street, Clonee, at former Joe Molloy’s Bookmakers (Derelict site Ref. Number DS-1044). Granted by the council on 10 October 2024. The register gives the permission's end as 25 November 2029.

Timeline

  1. Application lodged
  2. Further information requested
  3. Further information received
  4. Council granted
  5. Permission ends (date on the register)

The end date is the one the council register states. An extension or a commencement changes it.

Key facts

Reference
2460197
Planning authority
Meath County Council
Received
20 Mar 2024
Decided
10 Oct 2024
Status
Granted
Use
Mixed_use
Dwellings (estimated)
37
Read from the description, not stated on the register.
Site area
0.17 ha
Further information requested
14 May 2024
Further information received
5 Sept 2024

Homes and mix

Apartments and duplexes37
Total homes37
  • 37 car parking spaces
  • 76 cycle parking spaces

Read from the description, not stated on the register. Shown only where the parts add up to the total.

Proposed development

the proposed development is for a 2-5 storey mixed use building on the former Joe Molloy’s Bookmakers site, Main Street, Clonee, Co. Meath. The development will consist of the demolition of the existing building and site clearance (Derelict Site No. DS-1044); the construction of 3 no. ground floor level retail units with frontage onto Clonee Main Street (R147), the Lucan Road (R149) and at the Main Street / Lucan Road Junction (R147 / R149 Junction); 37 no. apartments (1 no. studio unit, 17 no. 1 bed units and 19 no. 2 bed units) at upper floor levels, including private amenity spaces; a raised communal landscape deck at first floor level, together with landscaped communal roof terraces at 2nd and 4th floor levels; 37 no. car parking spaces (including. 1 no. accessible space), 76 no. bicycle parking spaces and 2 no. communal bin stores at ground floor/surface level with access onto the Lucan Road (R149); and all associated and ancillary site and development works. The proposed development incorporates works to the public realm along the frontage of the site onto Clonee Main Street (R147), the Lucan Road (R149) and at the Main Street / Lucan Road Junction (R147 / R149 Junction). These proposed works include the provision of a concrete footpath (2.5m in width) along the Lucan Road (R149) frontage of the site; the provision of a bituminous macadam cycle path (1.75m in width) along Clonee Main Street (R147) and Lucan Road (R149) frontage, integrating with existing cycle paths; and, the provision of a loading bay for commercial vehicles only (2.5m x 7m) along Clonee Main Street (R147), adjoining and integrated with existing on-street parallel parking spaces. Significant further information/revised plans submitted on this application

Planning status

Permission was granted on 10 Oct 2024. The four-week appeal period has passed with no appeal recorded, so the permission is final. Works can start once a commencement notice is lodged; the register gives its end as 25 Nov 2029.

For the applicant

Is this your application?

Say it is yours and you will see which building firms and trades have asked to work on it, with the contact details they chose to leave. It is free and takes an email address. Nothing is shared with anyone unless you choose to contact them.

Sign in to claim itNo cold calls. Nothing is shared unless you choose to.
Free tool · no account needed

Buying or upgrading a home? Get a free solar, SEAI grant and deep-retrofit report.

Enter an address to see its solar potential, the full SEAI grant it qualifies for, and the BER-uplift economics of a deep retrofit - in one report, in minutes.

Nearby applications

Other applications on the Meath register close to this address.

All Meath planning applications

Related

About this page: the facts above come from the statutory public planning register kept by Meath County Council and are refreshed weekly (last updated 21 Sept 2026). Applicant names and contact details are not shown. Status labels are PlanningLeads' plain-language reading of the register status and the "Use" label is classified by AI from the public description (see how we use AI); neither is legal advice and the council's file is the record. How we handle this data: privacy notice.

Remove my application from this page

If this is your application and you would rather it did not appear here, tell us and we will take the page down. No account, no questions asked: we only email you a link to confirm it was you. This is your right to object under GDPR Article 21.