Planning application · Mayo County Council

Ballina Convent is a protected structure at McDermott St, Ballina

McDermott St., Ballina, Co. Mayo

2660126 · MayoGranted

1.584 ha · Granted · permission to Aug 2031

Planning application 2660126 to Mayo County Council: Ballina Convent is a protected structure, at McDermott St, Ballina. Granted by the council on 3 July 2026. The register gives the permission's end as 2 August 2031.

Timeline

  1. Application lodged
  2. Further information requested
  3. Further information received
  4. Council granted
  5. Permission ends (date on the register)

The end date is the one the council register states. An extension or a commencement changes it.

Key facts

Reference
2660126
Planning authority
Mayo County Council
Received
16 Feb 2026
Decided
3 Jul 2026
Status
Granted
Use
Mixed_use
Dwellings (estimated)
1
Read from the description, not stated on the register.
Bedrooms
2
Floor area (estimated)
1,139 m²
Read from the description, not stated on the register.
Site area
1.584 ha
Further information requested
9 Apr 2026
Further information received
5 Jun 2026

Proposed development

Ballina Convent is a protected structure. 1. Change of use of the convent ground floor to community facilities @ 1036 sqm and two-bedroom apartment @ 103 sqm. The proposed community facilities include continued use of the existing chapel for religious purposes, continued use of kitchen areas and dining/meeting room. Other proposed community facilities will include counselling and therapy functions, meeting rooms, training rooms, music and art facilities, sanitary facilities and community courtyard. The proposed apartment will be used by residents associated with the functioning of the community facilities. The works will include new mechanical, electrical and drainage services throughout and photovoltaic panels at convent flat roof and some pitched roofs. The works will include various conservation related works to the historical internal and external fabric of the convent. 2. New single storey steel shed for carpentry workshops and storage @ 203 sqm; 3. Change of use to community facilities of St. Marys unused school building @ 462 sqm, and external insulation and photovoltaic panels. 4. Change of use to community facilities of St. Annes unused school building @ 795 sqm, and external insulation and photovoltaic panels. 5. Re instatement of the existing gatehouse as a residential building, including refurbishment works and two-bedroomed extension, photovoltaic panels and new parking area and storage shed with new road access from the convent site access road. The gatehouse will be used by residents associated with the functioning of the community facilities. 6. New steel palisade fencing and cast-iron heritage type fencing at parts of site. 7. New car parking layouts to the main site. 8. New fuel tank. 9. All associated site works. 10. Directional signposting on site and signage at entrance gates area.

Planning status

Permission was granted on 3 Jul 2026. The four-week appeal period has passed with no appeal recorded, so the permission is final. Works can start once a commencement notice is lodged; the register gives its end as 2 Aug 2031.

For the applicant

Is this your application?

Say it is yours and you will see which building firms and trades have asked to work on it, with the contact details they chose to leave. It is free and takes an email address. Nothing is shared with anyone unless you choose to contact them.

Sign in to claim itNo cold calls. Nothing is shared unless you choose to.
Free tool · no account needed

Planning something similar? Check whether you need permission at all.

Since the 2026 regulations many smaller projects are exempt. Answer a few questions about your own job and get the verdict with the regulation it rests on - in about a minute.

Nearby applications

Other applications on the Mayo register close to this address.

All Mayo planning applications

Related

About this page: the facts above come from the statutory public planning register kept by Mayo County Council and are refreshed weekly (last updated 21 Sept 2026). Applicant names and contact details are not shown. Status labels are PlanningLeads' plain-language reading of the register status and the "Use" label is classified by AI from the public description (see how we use AI); neither is legal advice and the council's file is the record. How we handle this data: privacy notice.

Remove my application from this page

If this is your application and you would rather it did not appear here, tell us and we will take the page down. No account, no questions asked: we only email you a link to confirm it was you. This is your right to object under GDPR Article 21.