Planning application · Mayo County Council

Housing scheme comprising demolition of existing derelict, two storey house at Turlough Road, Castlebar

Turlough Road, Castlebar, County Mayo

2560242 · MayoGranted

up to 2 storeys · 0.72 ha · Granted · permission to Jan 2031

Planning application 2560242 to Mayo County Council: Housing scheme comprising demolition of existing derelict, two storey house, at Turlough Road, Castlebar. Granted by the council on 1 December 2025. The register gives the permission's end as 11 January 2031.

Timeline

  1. Application lodged
  2. Further information requested
  3. Further information received
  4. Council granted
  5. Permission ends (date on the register)

The end date is the one the council register states. An extension or a commencement changes it.

Key facts

Reference
2560242
Planning authority
Mayo County Council
Received
22 Apr 2025
Decided
1 Dec 2025
Status
Granted
Use
Residential
Dwellings (estimated)
30
Read from the description, not stated on the register.
Floor area
1,461 m²
Site area
0.72 ha
Further information requested
16 Jun 2025
Further information received
7 Nov 2025

Homes and mix

1-bed1
2-bed13
3-bed16
Total homes30
  • ESB substations

Read from the description, not stated on the register. Shown only where the parts add up to the total.

Proposed development

Housing scheme comprising demolition of existing derelict, two storey house, construction of 30 no. housing/apartment units incorporating 12no. 3 bed, 2 storey, semi-detached houses, 4no. 3 bed, two storey terraced houses, 7no. 2 bed, single level, ground floor Apartments, 6no. 2 bed, Duplex Apartments, 1no. 1 bed, first floor, single level Apartment, ESB substation if required, bike storage, bin storage and all ancillary siteworks, services and landscaping at Turlough Road, Castlebar, Co. Mayo Height of Buildings: 8.250m (lowest - terraced houses) - 10.175m (highest Apartment units)

Planning status

Permission was granted on 1 Dec 2025. The four-week appeal period has passed with no appeal recorded, so the permission is final. Works can start once a commencement notice is lodged; the register gives its end as 11 Jan 2031.

For the applicant

Is this your application?

Say it is yours and you will see which building firms and trades have asked to work on it, with the contact details they chose to leave. It is free and takes an email address. Nothing is shared with anyone unless you choose to contact them.

Sign in to claim itNo cold calls. Nothing is shared unless you choose to.
Free tool · no account needed

Buying or upgrading a home? Get a free solar, SEAI grant and deep-retrofit report.

Enter an address to see its solar potential, the full SEAI grant it qualifies for, and the BER-uplift economics of a deep retrofit - in one report, in minutes.

Nearby applications

Other applications on the Mayo register close to this address.

All Mayo planning applications

Related

About this page: the facts above come from the statutory public planning register kept by Mayo County Council and are refreshed weekly (last updated 26 Sept 2026). Applicant names and contact details are not shown. Status labels are PlanningLeads' plain-language reading of the register status and the "Use" label is classified by AI from the public description (see how we use AI); neither is legal advice and the council's file is the record. How we handle this data: privacy notice.

Remove my application from this page

If this is your application and you would rather it did not appear here, tell us and we will take the page down. No account, no questions asked: we only email you a link to confirm it was you. This is your right to object under GDPR Article 21.