Planning application · Mayo County Council

Retain the construction of Castle Bookshop at The Castle Bookshop, Castle Street

The Castle Bookshop, Castle Street, Castlebar Co. Mayo

2460150 · MayoGranted

0.017 ha · Granted · permission to Aug 2029

Planning application 2460150 to Mayo County Council: Retain the construction of Castle Bookshop, at The Castle Bookshop, Castle Street, Castlebar. Granted by the council on 18 July 2024. The register gives the permission's end as 17 August 2029.

Timeline

  1. Application lodged
  2. Further information requested
  3. Further information received
  4. Council granted
  5. Permission ends (date on the register)

The end date is the one the council register states. An extension or a commencement changes it.

Key facts

Reference
2460150
Planning authority
Mayo County Council
Received
18 Mar 2024
Decided
18 Jul 2024
Status
Granted
Use
Residential
Dwellings (estimated)
1
Read from the description, not stated on the register.
Bedrooms
1
Floor area
374 m²
Site area
0.017 ha
Further information requested
10 May 2024
Further information received
21 Jun 2024

Homes and mix

  • 1 retail or commercial unit

Read from the description, not stated on the register. Shown only where the parts add up to the total.

Proposed development

Planning permission to retain the construction of Castle Bookshop which included the demolition of the existing commercial & existing residential unit for structural reasons, to retain minor alterations to the floor plans and elevations as constructed, previously Granted under P21/927. The original development had proposed alterations to the existing commercial & existing residential unit, the extension and conversion of existing first and second floor spaces into 3 No. one bed apartments with all site works including connection to public services, the as-built development will now include 1 No. Commercial Unit and 4 No. of Residential units, at the above address.

Planning status

Permission was granted on 18 Jul 2024. The four-week appeal period has passed with no appeal recorded, so the permission is final. Works can start once a commencement notice is lodged; the register gives its end as 17 Aug 2029.

For the applicant

Is this your application?

Say it is yours and you will see which building firms and trades have asked to work on it, with the contact details they chose to leave. It is free and takes an email address. Nothing is shared with anyone unless you choose to contact them.

Sign in to claim itNo cold calls. Nothing is shared unless you choose to.
Free tool · no account needed

Planning something similar? Check whether you need permission at all.

Since the 2026 regulations many smaller projects are exempt. Answer a few questions about your own job and get the verdict with the regulation it rests on - in about a minute.

Nearby applications

Other applications on the Mayo register close to this address.

All Mayo planning applications

Related

About this page: the facts above come from the statutory public planning register kept by Mayo County Council and are refreshed weekly (last updated 21 Sept 2026). Applicant names and contact details are not shown. Status labels are PlanningLeads' plain-language reading of the register status and the "Use" label is classified by AI from the public description (see how we use AI); neither is legal advice and the council's file is the record. How we handle this data: privacy notice.

Remove my application from this page

If this is your application and you would rather it did not appear here, tell us and we will take the page down. No account, no questions asked: we only email you a link to confirm it was you. This is your right to object under GDPR Article 21.