Planning application · Louth County Council

Demolition and clearance of buildings at George's Street, Drogheda

George's Street, Drogheda, Co. Louth

2660292 · LouthLodged

up to 6 storeys · 0.4 ha · Lodged

Planning application 2660292 to Louth County Council: Demolition and clearance of buildings and structures on site including demolition of 5 no. vacant dwelling houses and a domestic garage, at George's Street, Drogheda. A council decision is due by 9 July 2026.

Timeline

  1. Application lodged
  2. Council decision due

Key facts

Reference
2660292
Planning authority
Louth County Council
Received
15 May 2026
Decision due
9 Jul 2026
Status
Lodged
Use
Residential
Dwellings (estimated)
60
Read from the description, not stated on the register.
Site area
0.4 ha

Homes and mix

  • 18 car parking spaces

Read from the description, not stated on the register. Shown only where the parts add up to the total.

Proposed development

Permission for the demolition and clearance of buildings and structures on site including demolition of 5 no. vacant dwelling houses and a domestic garage and outbuildings associated with ‘Swan Yard’ to facilitate the construction of a residential development comprising 60 no. dwellings consisting of a mix of studios, apartments and duplex units. The Trinity Garden entrance walls, railings and name plate (RPS Ref. No. DB 402) along with existing boundary walls to the north and west will be retained. The proposed dwellings are accommodated in 4 separate buildings arranged around a central courtyard. The buildings are identified as Blocks A, B, C and D and range in height from two – six storeys. Block A is located in the NE part of the site is three-storeys in height and accommodates 6 no. dwellings comprising 3 no. 2 bedroom apartments at ground floor level and 3 no. 3 bedroom duplex dwellings at first and second floor level. Block B is three-storeys in height and accommodates 5 no. 2 bedroom apartments at ground floor level and 5no. 3 bedroom duplex dwellings at first and second floor level. Block C is part three-storeys, part two-storeys in height, stepping down to two storeys where it adjoins the rear / side gardens of Trinity Garden dwellings and accommodates 12 no. dwellings in total. The two-storey element consists of 4 no. 1 bedroom apartments, two at ground floor level with a further two proposed at first floor level . The three-storey element comprises 4 no. two bedroom apartments at ground floor level, with 4 no. 3 bedroom duplex dwellings located at first and second floor level. Block D is six-storeys in height and accommodates 32 no. dwellings encompassing 11 no. studio apartments, 11 no. 1 bedroom units and 10 no. 2 bedroom units. All four blocks have balconies at upper floor levels. The existing entrance wall to Trinity Gardens (RPS Ref. No. DB402) is to be retained. It is proposed to reinstate a section of the protected wall at the eastern end on a like for like basis with all works to be supervised by a suitably qualified Conservation Architect. Vehicular access to the development is provided via a new access directly off George’s Street, with no vehicular access proposed off Trinity Gardens. This access will also serve as the main pedestrian access to the development. 18 no. surface car parking spaces along with bicycle parking /storage and bin storage are all located within an internal courtyard area. The

Planning status

The application has been lodged and validated. The council has eight weeks to decide, unless it asks for further information. The council's decision is due by 9 Jul 2026.

For the applicant

Is this your application?

Say it is yours and you will see which building firms and trades have asked to work on it, with the contact details they chose to leave. It is free and takes an email address. Nothing is shared with anyone unless you choose to contact them.

Sign in to claim itNo cold calls. Nothing is shared unless you choose to.
Free tool · no account needed

Buying or upgrading a home? Get a free solar, SEAI grant and deep-retrofit report.

Enter an address to see its solar potential, the full SEAI grant it qualifies for, and the BER-uplift economics of a deep retrofit - in one report, in minutes.

Nearby applications

Other applications on the Louth register close to this address.

All Louth planning applications

Related

About this page: the facts above come from the statutory public planning register kept by Louth County Council and are refreshed weekly (last updated 9 Jun 2026). Applicant names and contact details are not shown. Status labels are PlanningLeads' plain-language reading of the register status and the "Use" label is classified by AI from the public description (see how we use AI); neither is legal advice and the council's file is the record. How we handle this data: privacy notice.

Remove my application from this page

If this is your application and you would rather it did not appear here, tell us and we will take the page down. No account, no questions asked: we only email you a link to confirm it was you. This is your right to object under GDPR Article 21.