Planning application · Louth County Council

Large-scale Residential Development Application - see www.northdundalklrd.com

Castletown Road, Dundalk, Co. Louth

2560768 · LouthLodgedUnder appeal

up to 6 storeys · 38.89 ha · Under appeal since August 2026

Planning application 2560768 to Louth County Council: Large-scale Residential Development Application - see www.northdundalklrd.com, at Castletown Road, Dundalk. Now under appeal to An Coimisiún Pleanála.

Timeline

  1. Application lodged
  2. Further information requested
  3. Further information received
  4. Council decided
  5. Appealed to An Coimisiún Pleanála

Key facts

Reference
2560768
Planning authority
Louth County Council
Received
27 Nov 2025
Decided
22 Jul 2026
Status
Lodged
Use
Residential
Dwellings (estimated)
1058
Read from the description, not stated on the register.
Floor area
89 m²
Site area
38.89 ha
Further information requested
28 Jan 2026
Further information received
11 Feb 2026
Appeal
ACP-324571-26

Homes and mix

1-bed111
2-bed184
3-bed589
4-bed174
Total homes1058
  • Creche
  • Public open space
  • 3 retail or commercial units
  • 10 ESB substations

Read from the description, not stated on the register. Shown only where the parts add up to the total.

Proposed development

Large-scale Residential Development Application (LRD) - see www.northdundalklrd.com - for a 10-year permission at a site (c. 38.89ha) bounded generally by the Castletown Road/R934 to the north, Mount Avenue and Cú Chulainn’s Castle (a protected structure - RPS ref: LH00701) to the east, Greyacre Road to the west, and existing agricultural lands to the south within the Townlands of Newtownbalregan, Castletown, and Farrandreg, at Mount Avenue, Castletown. The development proposed comprises of 1,058no. dwellings consisting of 765no. houses total (10no. 2 bedroom bungalows, 34no. 2 bedroom 2-storey houses, 547no. 3-bedroom 2-storey houses, 174no. 4-bedroom 2-storey houses), 150no. duplex units (33no. 1 bedroom duplex units, 75no. 2 bedroom duplex units 42no. 3 bedroom duplex units) located in 3 storey buildings and 143 no. apartment units (78no. 1 bedroom apartment units, 65no. 2 bedroom apartment units located within 4no. apartment buildings ranging in height from 4 to 6 storey’s in height. 2no. duplex units (unit type Q) include an option to accommodate a temporary childcare facility at ground floor level if required; a local centre comprising 3 no. retail units (c. 459sqm, 240sqm and 230sqm respectively) and a community/medical unit (c. 245sqm); provision of a stand-alone childcare facility in a 2 storey building (974 sqm); 2no. new vehicular entrances are proposed to serve the development forming new junctions at Castletown Road/R934 and Mount Avenue respectively; provision of public open space (c. 5.1Ha) within the residential development, including provision of a playing pitch (c. 1.17Ha); provision of a Heritage Park on the lands surrounding Cú Chulainn’s Castle to the east (Cú Chulainn’s Castle is not within the application site or ownership and is a protected structure (RPS ref: LH00701)) and incorporates a Standing Stone (a protected structure - RPS ref: LH00700) within the Heritage Park; all associated and ancillary site development and infrastructural works, hard and soft landscaping and boundary treatment works including internal roads and streets (including an Arterial Link Street connecting with Castletown Road/R934), public, communal, and private open space; a mobility hub with provision for EV Charging is provided at the local centre; car parking (including EV charging), bike parking; public lighting; 10 no. ESB substations; bin stores; provision of a foul sewage pumping station; laying a foul rising main along Castletown Road from the prop

Planning status

The decision has been appealed to An Coimisiún Pleanála. The appeal outcome replaces the council decision.

Appeal ACP-324571-26 on the An Coimisiún Pleanála website ↗

For the applicant

Is this your application?

Say it is yours and you will see which building firms and trades have asked to work on it, with the contact details they chose to leave. It is free and takes an email address. Nothing is shared with anyone unless you choose to contact them.

Sign in to claim itNo cold calls. Nothing is shared unless you choose to.
Free tool · no account needed

Buying or upgrading a home? Get a free solar, SEAI grant and deep-retrofit report.

Enter an address to see its solar potential, the full SEAI grant it qualifies for, and the BER-uplift economics of a deep retrofit - in one report, in minutes.

Nearby applications

Other applications on the Louth register close to this address.

All Louth planning applications

Related

About this page: the facts above come from the statutory public planning register kept by Louth County Council and are refreshed weekly (last updated 2 Sept 2026). Applicant names and contact details are not shown. Status labels are PlanningLeads' plain-language reading of the register status and the "Use" label is classified by AI from the public description (see how we use AI); neither is legal advice and the council's file is the record. How we handle this data: privacy notice.

Remove my application from this page

If this is your application and you would rather it did not appear here, tell us and we will take the page down. No account, no questions asked: we only email you a link to confirm it was you. This is your right to object under GDPR Article 21.