Planning application · Louth County Council

10-year permission development at Greenore Port

Greenore Port and site of dwelling house on Shore Road (A91DD42), Greenore, Co. Louth

2460294 · LouthGrantedAppeal withdrawn

up to 3 storeys · 4.88 ha · Appeal withdrawn · permission to Apr 2035

Planning application 2460294 to Louth County Council: 10-year permission development at Greenore Port and site of dwelling house on Shore Road, Greenore. Granted by the council on 19 December 2024; the appeal to An Coimisiún Pleanála was withdrawn. The register gives the permission's end as 24 April 2035.

Timeline

  1. Application lodged
  2. Further information requested
  3. Further information received
  4. Council granted
  5. Appealed to An Coimisiún Pleanála
  6. Permission ends (date on the register)

The end date is the one the council register states. An extension or a commencement changes it.

Key facts

Reference
2460294
Planning authority
Louth County Council
Received
28 May 2024
Decided
19 Dec 2024
Status
Granted
Use
Industrial
Floor area (estimated)
5,010 m²
Read from the description, not stated on the register.
Site area
4.88 ha
Further information requested
18 Jul 2024
Further information received
29 Oct 2024
Appeal
ABP-321735-25 · Appeal withdrawn

Homes and mix

  • 76 car parking spaces

Read from the description, not stated on the register. Shown only where the parts add up to the total.

Proposed development

Permission for a 10-year permission development at Greenore Port and site of dwelling house on Shore Road (A91DD42), Greenore, (total site area c.4.88 hectare). The development comprising of Operation and Maintenance (O&M) Facilities will serve as the support base for future offshore wind arrays in the Irish Sea. The proposed development will comprise of: (i) Three standalone buildings, each with a gross floor area (GFA) of 1,670 sqm, comprising 681 sqm warehouse floor space, 322 sqm office space and 667 sqm plant, welfare, storage, ancillary and circulation space per unit. The height of each unit ranges from 7.2m for the warehouse (single-storey / double-height space) to 13.5m max for the office 3-storey element. 76 car parking spaces are proposed distributed adjacent to the units including 6 no. disabled parking spaces and 15 no. electric vehicle (EV) charging spaces. Each building includes an internal bike storage room, with 20 spaces per building. Each building includes rooftop solar photovoltaic panels. (ii) Nearshore works including dredging of harbour sediments to -4m Chart Datum to provide navigable water depths, new quay wall (70m), a 40m anti-slip access ramp, floating pontoon for berthing crew transfer vessels (CTV’s). 9 no. berths are proposed, with an additional 2 no. layby berths and a push-on / service berth adjacent to the new quay wall. (iii) Improvement works to the quay deck including installation of a new reinforced concrete deck with surface water management system incorporating silt traps and hydrocarbon interceptors, and berth infrastructure including bollards, fenders, ladders, lifesaving equipment, power outlets and fire hydrants. (iv) Surface car park at the Residential site on Shore Road comprising 135 car parking spaces, including ducting for 30 no. EV charging spaces, relocation of existing entrance on Shore Road by c.6m to the east, new boundary wall to Shore Road and a pedestrian access route from the car park through port lands to the O&M Units crossing improved public realm at top of Euston Street. (v) Re-instatement of former Open Hydro carpark (62 spaces) until the surface car park on Shore Road is operational. (vi) Upgrade to public/private realm in the foreground of the existing Greenore Port Office building, including upgrade of existing entrance to former open hydro carpark, new pedestrian gate, new feature wall entrance, removal of 6 port car parking spaces, link to new pedestrian route from surface carpark includi

Planning status

The appeal to An Coimisiún Pleanála was withdrawn, so the council's decision stands.

Appeal ABP-321735-25 on the An Coimisiún Pleanála website ↗

For the applicant

Is this your application?

Say it is yours and you will see which building firms and trades have asked to work on it, with the contact details they chose to leave. It is free and takes an email address. Nothing is shared with anyone unless you choose to contact them.

Sign in to claim itNo cold calls. Nothing is shared unless you choose to.
Free tool · no account needed

Buying or upgrading a home? Get a free solar, SEAI grant and deep-retrofit report.

Enter an address to see its solar potential, the full SEAI grant it qualifies for, and the BER-uplift economics of a deep retrofit - in one report, in minutes.

Related

About this page: the facts above come from the statutory public planning register kept by Louth County Council and are refreshed weekly (last updated 21 Sept 2026). Applicant names and contact details are not shown. Status labels are PlanningLeads' plain-language reading of the register status and the "Use" label is classified by AI from the public description (see how we use AI); neither is legal advice and the council's file is the record. How we handle this data: privacy notice.

Remove my application from this page

If this is your application and you would rather it did not appear here, tell us and we will take the page down. No account, no questions asked: we only email you a link to confirm it was you. This is your right to object under GDPR Article 21.