Planning application · Limerick City and County Council

Extension of duration of permission 20/457 at Dock Road & Saint Alphonsus Street

Dock Road & Saint Alphonsus Street, Limerick

267038 · LimerickGranted

up to 3 storeys · Granted · permission to Jun 2029

Planning application 267038 to Limerick City and County Council: Extension of duration of permission 20/457, at Dock Road & Saint Alphonsus Street. Granted by the council on 12 June 2026. The register gives the permission's end as 1 June 2029.

Timeline

  1. Application lodged
  2. Council granted
  3. Permission ends (date on the register)

The end date is the one the council register states. An extension or a commencement changes it.

Key facts

Reference
267038
Planning authority
Limerick City and County Council
Received
30 Apr 2026
Decided
12 Jun 2026
Status
Granted
Use
Retail
Floor area (estimated)
4,145 m²
Read from the description, not stated on the register.

Homes and mix

  • 53 car parking spaces
  • 16 cycle parking spaces

Read from the description, not stated on the register. Shown only where the parts add up to the total.

Proposed development

Extension of Duration for Planning Ref. No. 20/457: the demolition of 3 no. warehousing/industrial/office buildings and associated structures (totalling 4,145 sqm Gross Floor Area and ranging in height between one and three storey), the change of use of an existing single storey office building (Protected Structure No. 260) to café/coffee shop with associated internal alterations (109 sqm Gross Floor Area) site development works and outdoor plaza seating area, and the construction of a Licenced Discount Foodstore of 3 storey equivalent height (2,715.9 sqm Gross Floor Area) with undercroft and surface vehicular parking at ground floor, sales and checkout area with ancillary off-licence at first floor, and internal plant room at mezzanine second floor. The construction of the proposed Licenced Discount Foodstore will also include rooftop photovoltaic solar panel array (907.5 sqm), corporate signage consisting of 3 no. building mounted corporate internally illuminated signs, 2 no. free standing internally illuminated flagpole signs, 2 no. wall mounted externally illuminated poster panel display boards and 1 no. externally illuminated poster display board, undercroft parking providing 53 no. car parking spaces, surface car park providing a total of 100 no. car parking spaces, (consisting of 8 no. disabled, 5 no. parent and child, 2 no. EV charging spaces and 85 no. regular) and 16 no. bicycle parking spaces, boundary treatments, hard and soft landscaping, services (including 1 no. below ground attenuation tank) and all other ancillary and associated site development works above and below ground level. Primary vehicular and pedestrian access to the proposed development will be provided via a new site entrance from Dock Road. Secondary vehicular and pedestrian access to the proposed development will be via the existing access off Saint Alphonsus Street, upgraded and enhanced as part of the proposed development. Pedestrian access to the proposed development will be further enhanced via a new plaza/public realm area along the north western boundary of the site with Dock Road, linking to the north eastern boundary of the site with Saint Alphonsus Street at the proposed café/coffee shop (Protected Structure No. 260) all on a site of approximately 0.76 hectares. The planning application is accompanied by a Natura Impact Statement (NIS)

Planning status

Permission was granted on 12 Jun 2026. The four-week appeal period has passed with no appeal recorded, so the permission is final. Works can start once a commencement notice is lodged; the register gives its end as 1 Jun 2029.

For the applicant

Is this your application?

Say it is yours and you will see which building firms and trades have asked to work on it, with the contact details they chose to leave. It is free and takes an email address. Nothing is shared with anyone unless you choose to contact them.

Sign in to claim itNo cold calls. Nothing is shared unless you choose to.
Free tool · no account needed

Planning something similar? Check whether you need permission at all.

Since the 2026 regulations many smaller projects are exempt. Answer a few questions about your own job and get the verdict with the regulation it rests on - in about a minute.

Nearby applications

Other applications on the Limerick register close to this address.

All Limerick planning applications

Related

About this page: the facts above come from the statutory public planning register kept by Limerick City and County Council and are refreshed weekly (last updated 21 Sept 2026). Applicant names and contact details are not shown. Status labels are PlanningLeads' plain-language reading of the register status and the "Use" label is classified by AI from the public description (see how we use AI); neither is legal advice and the council's file is the record. How we handle this data: privacy notice.

Remove my application from this page

If this is your application and you would rather it did not appear here, tell us and we will take the page down. No account, no questions asked: we only email you a link to confirm it was you. This is your right to object under GDPR Article 21.