Planning application · Laois County Council

Develop at Portlaoise GAA, Rathleague, Portlaoise

Portlaoise GAA, Rathleague Portlaoise, Co. Laois

2660163 · LaoisGranted

16.16 ha · Granted · permission to Aug 2032

Planning application 2660163 to Laois County Council: Develop at Portlaoise GAA, Rathleague, Portlaoise. Granted by the council on 11 May 2026. The register gives the permission's end as 18 August 2032.

This application amends 2560304, which carries the original file.

Timeline

  1. Application lodged
  2. Council granted
  3. Permission ends (date on the register)

The end date is the one the council register states. An extension or a commencement changes it.

Key facts

Reference
2660163
Planning authority
Laois County Council
Received
24 Mar 2026
Decided
11 May 2026
Status
Granted
Use
Other
Floor area (estimated)
366 m²
Read from the description, not stated on the register.
Site area
16.16 ha

Homes and mix

  • 2 car parking spaces
  • 2 cycle parking spaces

Read from the description, not stated on the register. Shown only where the parts add up to the total.

Proposed development

develop at Portlaoise GAA, Rathleague, Portlaoise, Co. Laois, R32 Y160. The proposed development will consist of amendments to the permission granted by Laois County Council under LCC Reg. Ref. 25/60304 as follows: (1) The replacement of 4 no. permitted handball alleys with 2 no. equipment storage rooms; (2) The addition of 2 no. ball alleys/striking alleys, measuring c.366.3 sqm, to the southern façade; (3) An external ball wall 30m in width is proposed to the permitted south-eastern façade; (4) The relocation of the permitted pumping station on the southern façade; (5) The extension of the permitted precast south-eastern façade wall to conceal the proposed ball alleys and the relocated pumping station; (6) c.60 sqm of additional floor space at loft level above first floor level for the accommodation of plant/mechanical equipment; (7) Black ventilation louvres above external doors of the indoor training pitch and additional roof vent popups; (8) Modification of the roof overhang structure to incorporate rainwater downpipes in lieu of rain chains; (9) Omission of 1 no. external door to plant room; (10) External roller shutter door to the southeastern elevation; (11) A reduction of 2 no. car parking spaces from the permitted 227 no. spaces to 225 no. proposed spaces (incl. 11 no. accessible spaces, 21 no. EV spaces, 1 no. EV accessible space), 3 no. motorcycle spaces, 4 no. bus spaces, 1 no. dedicated accessible set down space and standard set down spaces; (12) A reduction of 2 no. bicycle parking spaces from the permitted of 227 no. spaces to 225 no. proposed spaces; (13) Signage to the northwestern façade consisting of Portlaoise lettering and club logo; (14) Updated layout of Pitches 2 and 3 including associated landscape and additional scoreboard; (15) All associated site development, civil and landscaping works to include the provision of grasscrete overrun surfacing at the main entrance.

Planning status

Permission was granted on 11 May 2026. The four-week appeal period has passed with no appeal recorded, so the permission is final. Works can start once a commencement notice is lodged; the register gives its end as 18 Aug 2032.

For the applicant

Is this your application?

Say it is yours and you will see which building firms and trades have asked to work on it, with the contact details they chose to leave. It is free and takes an email address. Nothing is shared with anyone unless you choose to contact them.

Sign in to claim itNo cold calls. Nothing is shared unless you choose to.
Free tool · no account needed

Planning something similar? Check whether you need permission at all.

Since the 2026 regulations many smaller projects are exempt. Answer a few questions about your own job and get the verdict with the regulation it rests on - in about a minute.

Nearby applications

Other applications on the Laois register close to this address.

All Laois planning applications

Related

About this page: the facts above come from the statutory public planning register kept by Laois County Council and are refreshed weekly (last updated 21 Sept 2026). Applicant names and contact details are not shown. Status labels are PlanningLeads' plain-language reading of the register status and the "Use" label is classified by AI from the public description (see how we use AI); neither is legal advice and the council's file is the record. How we handle this data: privacy notice.

Remove my application from this page

If this is your application and you would rather it did not appear here, tell us and we will take the page down. No account, no questions asked: we only email you a link to confirm it was you. This is your right to object under GDPR Article 21.