Planning application · Laois County Council

Develop a new primary care centre located at St Fintan’s Hospital, Dublin Road

St Fintan’s Hospital, Dublin Road, Portlaoise

2560542 · LaoisGranted

up to 4 storeys · 0.854 ha · Granted · permission to Mar 2031

Planning application 2560542 to Laois County Council: Develop a new primary care centre located on a vacant site immediately adjoining the Dublin Road and to the East of the existing car park, at St Fintan’s Hospital, Dublin Road, Portlaoise. Granted by the council on 27 January 2026. The register gives the permission's end as 3 March 2031.

Timeline

  1. Application lodged
  2. Further information requested
  3. Further information received
  4. Council granted
  5. Permission ends (date on the register)

The end date is the one the council register states. An extension or a commencement changes it.

Key facts

Reference
2560542
Planning authority
Laois County Council
Received
29 Aug 2025
Decided
27 Jan 2026
Status
Granted
Use
Civic or community
Floor area (estimated)
5,845 m²
Read from the description, not stated on the register.
Site area
0.854 ha
Further information requested
23 Oct 2025
Further information received
22 Dec 2025

Homes and mix

  • 80 cycle parking spaces
  • ESB substations

Read from the description, not stated on the register. Shown only where the parts add up to the total.

Proposed development

develop a new primary care centre located on a vacant site immediately adjoining the Dublin Road and to the East of the existing car park, interlinked to the core public services and administration block of the existing protected structure (NIAH Reg. No. 12508088) St. Fintan’s Hospital building. The proposed development comprises: a) a four-storey Primary Care Centre building (total gross floor area c. 5,845m²) incorporating general practitioner (GP) surgeries, dental and orthodontic surgeries, outpatient consulting and treatment rooms, physiotherapy and occupational therapy rooms, group rooms, (CAMHS and day hospital), X-ray and ultrasound services, administrative offices, ancillary staff and meeting rooms, clinical and utility stores, waiting areas, and all associated circulation and building services; b) provision of site infrastructure including a new car park located to the South-West of the proposed building containing 104 no. surface-level car parking spaces (including 4 no. accessible spaces and 12 no. electric vehicle charging spaces), 80 no. bicycle parking spaces, pedestrian footpaths, cycle paths, boundary treatments, hard and soft landscaping, public lighting, site signage, and all associated site development and drainage works; c) the development includes provision of rooftop plant areas, ESB substation, and vehicular, pedestrian, and cycle access from within the existing St. Fintan’s campus road network and all associated site development works.

Planning status

Permission was granted on 27 Jan 2026. The four-week appeal period has passed with no appeal recorded, so the permission is final. Works can start once a commencement notice is lodged; the register gives its end as 3 Mar 2031.

For the applicant

Is this your application?

Say it is yours and you will see which building firms and trades have asked to work on it, with the contact details they chose to leave. It is free and takes an email address. Nothing is shared with anyone unless you choose to contact them.

Sign in to claim itNo cold calls. Nothing is shared unless you choose to.
Free tool · no account needed

Buying or upgrading a home? Get a free solar, SEAI grant and deep-retrofit report.

Enter an address to see its solar potential, the full SEAI grant it qualifies for, and the BER-uplift economics of a deep retrofit - in one report, in minutes.

Nearby applications

Other applications on the Laois register close to this address.

All Laois planning applications

Related

About this page: the facts above come from the statutory public planning register kept by Laois County Council and are refreshed weekly (last updated 21 Sept 2026). Applicant names and contact details are not shown. Status labels are PlanningLeads' plain-language reading of the register status and the "Use" label is classified by AI from the public description (see how we use AI); neither is legal advice and the council's file is the record. How we handle this data: privacy notice.

Remove my application from this page

If this is your application and you would rather it did not appear here, tell us and we will take the page down. No account, no questions asked: we only email you a link to confirm it was you. This is your right to object under GDPR Article 21.