Planning application · Laois County Council

Develop on site to the rear of Morrissey’s at Main Street, Knocknamoe

Main Street, Knocknamoe, Abbeyleix

2560529 · LaoisGranted

up to 2 storeys · 0.25 ha · Granted · permission to May 2031

Planning application 2560529 to Laois County Council at Main Street, Knocknamoe, Abbeyleix. Granted by the council on 30 March 2026. The register gives the permission's end as 18 May 2031.

Timeline

  1. Application lodged
  2. Further information requested
  3. Further information received
  4. Council granted
  5. Permission ends (date on the register)

The end date is the one the council register states. An extension or a commencement changes it.

Key facts

Reference
2560529
Planning authority
Laois County Council
Received
26 Aug 2025
Decided
30 Mar 2026
Status
Granted
Use
Residential
Dwellings (estimated)
5
Read from the description, not stated on the register.
Site area
0.25 ha
Further information requested
16 Oct 2025
Further information received
19 Dec 2025

Homes and mix

1-bed5
Total homes5

Read from the description, not stated on the register. Shown only where the parts add up to the total.

Proposed development

develop on site to the rear of Morrissey’s consisting of: i) change of use of the 2 storey outbuilding A and the single storey outbuilding B to staff accommodation including alterations to provide three 1-bed units, ii) to construct a new two storey staff accommodation building to include two 1-bed units and one 2-bed unit and iii) to alter locations of carparking spaces within the site which was previously granted with planning reference 23/283 and all associated & necessary site works at Morrissey’s , a protected structure NPS No. RPS079, NIH No.12900733 in an ACA

Planning status

Permission was granted on 30 Mar 2026. The four-week appeal period has passed with no appeal recorded, so the permission is final. Works can start once a commencement notice is lodged; the register gives its end as 18 May 2031.

For the applicant

Is this your application?

Say it is yours and you will see which building firms and trades have asked to work on it, with the contact details they chose to leave. It is free and takes an email address. Nothing is shared with anyone unless you choose to contact them.

Sign in to claim itNo cold calls. Nothing is shared unless you choose to.
Free tool · no account needed

Buying or upgrading a home? Get a free solar, SEAI grant and deep-retrofit report.

Enter an address to see its solar potential, the full SEAI grant it qualifies for, and the BER-uplift economics of a deep retrofit - in one report, in minutes.

Nearby applications

Other applications on the Laois register close to this address.

All Laois planning applications

Related

About this page: the facts above come from the statutory public planning register kept by Laois County Council and are refreshed weekly (last updated 21 Sept 2026). Applicant names and contact details are not shown. Status labels are PlanningLeads' plain-language reading of the register status and the "Use" label is classified by AI from the public description (see how we use AI); neither is legal advice and the council's file is the record. How we handle this data: privacy notice.

Remove my application from this page

If this is your application and you would rather it did not appear here, tell us and we will take the page down. No account, no questions asked: we only email you a link to confirm it was you. This is your right to object under GDPR Article 21.