Planning application · Laois County Council

Carry out development which will consist of permission to extend

St. Michael’s Apartment Block & St. Helena’s Apartment Block, Newpark, Portlaoise Co. Laois.

2560212 · LaoisGranted

0.142 ha · Granted · permission to Jan 2031

Planning application 2560212 to Laois County Council: Carry out development which will consist of permission to extend and renovate St. Michael’s and St. Helena’s apartment blocks, at St. Michael’s Apartment Block & St. Helena’s Apartment Block. Granted by the council on 10 December 2025. The register gives the permission's end as 25 January 2031.

Timeline

  1. Application lodged
  2. Further information requested
  3. Further information received
  4. Council granted
  5. Permission ends (date on the register)

The end date is the one the council register states. An extension or a commencement changes it.

Key facts

Reference
2560212
Planning authority
Laois County Council
Received
15 Apr 2025
Decided
10 Dec 2025
Status
Granted
Use
Residential
Dwellings (estimated)
12
Read from the description, not stated on the register.
Site area
0.142 ha
Further information requested
6 Jun 2025
Further information received
21 Nov 2025

Homes and mix

1-bed12
Total homes12

Read from the description, not stated on the register. Shown only where the parts add up to the total.

Proposed development

carry out development which will consist of permission to extend and renovate St. Michael’s and St. Helena’s apartment blocks. The amendments will include removal of roof on both blocks, additional storey with flat roof, amendments to elevations, amendments to internal layouts to provide 12 no. x 1-bed apartments, new bin and bike store and all associated site works. Note both blocks contain a mixture of 10 no. x 1 & 2 bed apartments. (These works are in the vicinity of RPS No. 462.)

Planning status

Permission was granted on 10 Dec 2025. The four-week appeal period has passed with no appeal recorded, so the permission is final. Works can start once a commencement notice is lodged; the register gives its end as 25 Jan 2031.

For the applicant

Is this your application?

Say it is yours and you will see which building firms and trades have asked to work on it, with the contact details they chose to leave. It is free and takes an email address. Nothing is shared with anyone unless you choose to contact them.

Sign in to claim itNo cold calls. Nothing is shared unless you choose to.
Free tool · no account needed

Buying or upgrading a home? Get a free solar, SEAI grant and deep-retrofit report.

Enter an address to see its solar potential, the full SEAI grant it qualifies for, and the BER-uplift economics of a deep retrofit - in one report, in minutes.

Nearby applications

Other applications on the Laois register close to this address.

All Laois planning applications

Related

About this page: the facts above come from the statutory public planning register kept by Laois County Council and are refreshed weekly (last updated 21 Sept 2026). Applicant names and contact details are not shown. Status labels are PlanningLeads' plain-language reading of the register status and the "Use" label is classified by AI from the public description (see how we use AI); neither is legal advice and the council's file is the record. How we handle this data: privacy notice.

Remove my application from this page

If this is your application and you would rather it did not appear here, tell us and we will take the page down. No account, no questions asked: we only email you a link to confirm it was you. This is your right to object under GDPR Article 21.