Planning application · Laois County Council

Construct residential development at Cooltederry, Portarlington

Cooltederry, Portarlington, Co. Laois

2460265 · LaoisGranted

up to 3 storeys · 3.02 ha · Granted · permission to Jul 2030

Planning application 2460265 to Laois County Council: Construct residential development comprising 67 No. dwellings of 2-3 storeys in height, at Cooltederry, Portarlington. Granted by the council on 12 June 2025. The register gives the permission's end as 17 July 2030.

Timeline

  1. Application lodged
  2. Further information requested
  3. Further information received
  4. Council granted
  5. Permission ends (date on the register)

The end date is the one the council register states. An extension or a commencement changes it.

Key facts

Reference
2460265
Planning authority
Laois County Council
Received
16 May 2024
Decided
12 Jun 2025
Status
Granted
Use
Residential
Dwellings (estimated)
67
Read from the description, not stated on the register.
Floor area
38 m²
Site area
3.02 ha
Further information requested
10 Jul 2024
Further information received
20 May 2025

Homes and mix

2-bed6
3-bed43
4-bed18
Total homes67

Read from the description, not stated on the register. Shown only where the parts add up to the total.

Proposed development

construct residential development comprising 67 No. dwellings of 2-3 storeys in height. The proposed development will fully complete the unfinished Castlelea / Gandon / Landsdowne Estates granted previously (under the original Laois County Council Planning Reg. Ref. No.: (03/1665) and consists of: 6 No. two-bedroom terrace dwellings, 23 No. three-bedroom terrace dwellings, 18 No. three-bedroom semi-detached dwellings, 2 No. three-bedroom detached dwellings, 16 No. four-bedroom semi-detached dwellings, and 2 No. four-bedroom detached dwellings; all with associated vehicular parking, boundary treatments, private and public open spaces, hard and soft landscaping, roads, pedestrian walkways and all other ancillary and associated site development

Planning status

Permission was granted on 12 Jun 2025. The four-week appeal period has passed with no appeal recorded, so the permission is final. Works can start once a commencement notice is lodged; the register gives its end as 17 Jul 2030.

For the applicant

Is this your application?

Say it is yours and you will see which building firms and trades have asked to work on it, with the contact details they chose to leave. It is free and takes an email address. Nothing is shared with anyone unless you choose to contact them.

Sign in to claim itNo cold calls. Nothing is shared unless you choose to.
Free tool · no account needed

Buying or upgrading a home? Get a free solar, SEAI grant and deep-retrofit report.

Enter an address to see its solar potential, the full SEAI grant it qualifies for, and the BER-uplift economics of a deep retrofit - in one report, in minutes.

Nearby applications

Other applications on the Laois register close to this address.

All Laois planning applications

Related

About this page: the facts above come from the statutory public planning register kept by Laois County Council and are refreshed weekly (last updated 30 Sept 2026). Applicant names and contact details are not shown. Status labels are PlanningLeads' plain-language reading of the register status and the "Use" label is classified by AI from the public description (see how we use AI); neither is legal advice and the council's file is the record. How we handle this data: privacy notice.

Remove my application from this page

If this is your application and you would rather it did not appear here, tell us and we will take the page down. No account, no questions asked: we only email you a link to confirm it was you. This is your right to object under GDPR Article 21.