Planning application · Kilkenny County Council

Residential development at Lousybush Lane & Bishops Lough, Loughmacask

Lousybush Lane & Bishops Lough, Loughmacask, Kilkenny

2560557 · KilkennyGranted

up to 2 storeys · 1.719 ha · Granted · permission to Feb 2031

Planning application 2560557 to Kilkenny County Council at Lousybush Lane & Bishops Lough, Loughmacask. Granted by the council on 21 January 2026. The register gives the permission's end as 22 February 2031.

Timeline

  1. Application lodged
  2. Further information requested
  3. Further information received
  4. Council granted
  5. Permission ends (date on the register)

The end date is the one the council register states. An extension or a commencement changes it.

Key facts

Reference
2560557
Planning authority
Kilkenny County Council
Received
28 Aug 2025
Decided
21 Jan 2026
Status
Granted
Use
Residential
Dwellings (estimated)
32
Read from the description, not stated on the register.
Floor area
2,518 m²
Site area
1.719 ha
Further information requested
22 Oct 2025
Further information received
16 Dec 2025

Homes and mix

2-bed16
3-bed16
Total homes32
  • Public open space

Read from the description, not stated on the register. Shown only where the parts add up to the total.

Proposed development

for development. The development will consist of: 1) 16 No. 3-bedroom terraced two-storey houses and 16 No. 2-bedroom own-door maisonette units in 2 No. two-storey buildings, 2) Boundary treatments, site landscaping, public open space, car and bicycle parking provisions, 3) Vehicular and pedestrian connection, roadway, and shared cycle and footpaths through the Bishops Lough housing development from the existing entrance off the Bonnettstown / Tullaroan Road, 4) Vehicular and pedestrian connection, roadway, and shared cycle and footpaths to the existing roundabout and roadway as permitted under Planning Ref. 21327, 5) Alterations to Lousybush Lane to include localised removal of boundary walls for vehicular and pedestrian / cyclist connections, and 6) All associated site & development works

Planning status

Permission was granted on 21 Jan 2026. The four-week appeal period has passed with no appeal recorded, so the permission is final. Works can start once a commencement notice is lodged; the register gives its end as 22 Feb 2031.

For the applicant

Is this your application?

Say it is yours and you will see which building firms and trades have asked to work on it, with the contact details they chose to leave. It is free and takes an email address. Nothing is shared with anyone unless you choose to contact them.

Sign in to claim itNo cold calls. Nothing is shared unless you choose to.
Free tool · no account needed

Buying or upgrading a home? Get a free solar, SEAI grant and deep-retrofit report.

Enter an address to see its solar potential, the full SEAI grant it qualifies for, and the BER-uplift economics of a deep retrofit - in one report, in minutes.

Nearby applications

Other applications on the Kilkenny register close to this address.

All Kilkenny planning applications

Related

About this page: the facts above come from the statutory public planning register kept by Kilkenny County Council and are refreshed weekly (last updated 21 Sept 2026). Applicant names and contact details are not shown. Status labels are PlanningLeads' plain-language reading of the register status and the "Use" label is classified by AI from the public description (see how we use AI); neither is legal advice and the council's file is the record. How we handle this data: privacy notice.

Remove my application from this page

If this is your application and you would rather it did not appear here, tell us and we will take the page down. No account, no questions asked: we only email you a link to confirm it was you. This is your right to object under GDPR Article 21.