Planning application · Kildare County Council

Provision of a total of 96no. two-storey semi-detached dwellings at Shanrath (Townparks TD), Athy

Shanrath (Townparks TD), Athy, Co. Kildare

2560179 · KildareGranted

up to 3 storeys · 3.52 ha · Granted · permission to Nov 2030

Planning application 2560179 to Kildare County Council: Provision of a total of 96no. two-storey semi-detached dwellings which will consist of the following unit mix: 8no. 4-bed dwellings, at Shanrath (Townparks TD), Athy. Granted by the council on 13 October 2025. The register gives the permission's end as 23 November 2030.

This application amends 2460683, which carries the original file.

Timeline

  1. Application lodged
  2. Further information requested
  3. Further information received
  4. Council granted
  5. Permission ends (date on the register)

The end date is the one the council register states. An extension or a commencement changes it.

Key facts

Reference
2560179
Planning authority
Kildare County Council
Received
25 Feb 2025
Decided
13 Oct 2025
Status
Granted
Use
Mixed_use
Dwellings (estimated)
96
Read from the description, not stated on the register.
Floor area
8,469 m²
Site area
3.52 ha
Further information requested
17 Apr 2025
Further information received
5 Sept 2025

Homes and mix

2-bed14
3-bed74
4-bed8
Total homes96
  • Creche

Read from the description, not stated on the register. Shown only where the parts add up to the total.

Proposed development

for (a) The provision of a total of 96no. two-storey semi-detached dwellings which will consist of the following unit mix: 8no. 4-bed dwellings, 74no. 3-bed dwellings, and 14no. 2-bed dwellings, (b) Provision for a single story creche with associated external play areas, car parking area and new vehicle entrance onto the existing cul-de-sac local road, (c) Provision of new internal roadways and footpaths by extension of the existing residential access road from within the existing Shanrath Housing Estate, with associated works to facilitate vehicular, pedestrian and cycle access and car parking; (d) Provision of a shared footpath and cycle lane connection with the existing shared footpath and cycle lane along the Athy Distributor Route (N78) and previously approved adjacent housing development (Planning Reference 24/60683); (e) Provision of open space areas to include all hard and soft landscape works, planting and boundary treatments; (f) All other associated site excavation, infrastructural and site development works above and below ground including; surface water drainage system, foul sewerage network including connection to previously approved foul pumping station (Planning Reference 24/61174), public lighting and all ancillary site development works. Revised by Significant Further Information which consists of a reduction of the site size, a redesign of the road and housing layouts of the development, an increase in the number of residential units from 96 to 98, changes to residential unit types to incorporate five three-storey elements with 10 no. two-bedroom ground floor apartments with 10 no. three-bedroom duplex units over, changes to boundary treatments, an additional access point to the Athy Distributor Road and all associated site works

Planning status

Permission was granted on 13 Oct 2025. The four-week appeal period has passed with no appeal recorded, so the permission is final. Works can start once a commencement notice is lodged; the register gives its end as 23 Nov 2030.

For the applicant

Is this your application?

Say it is yours and you will see which building firms and trades have asked to work on it, with the contact details they chose to leave. It is free and takes an email address. Nothing is shared with anyone unless you choose to contact them.

Sign in to claim itNo cold calls. Nothing is shared unless you choose to.
Free tool · no account needed

Planning something similar? Check whether you need permission at all.

Since the 2026 regulations many smaller projects are exempt. Answer a few questions about your own job and get the verdict with the regulation it rests on - in about a minute.

Nearby applications

Other applications on the Kildare register close to this address.

All Kildare planning applications

Related

About this page: the facts above come from the statutory public planning register kept by Kildare County Council and are refreshed weekly (last updated 21 Sept 2026). Applicant names and contact details are not shown. Status labels are PlanningLeads' plain-language reading of the register status and the "Use" label is classified by AI from the public description (see how we use AI); neither is legal advice and the council's file is the record. How we handle this data: privacy notice.

Remove my application from this page

If this is your application and you would rather it did not appear here, tell us and we will take the page down. No account, no questions asked: we only email you a link to confirm it was you. This is your right to object under GDPR Article 21.