Planning application · Fingal County Council

Proposed multi-purpose Indoor sports, recreation and community facility at Morton Stadium, Swords Road

Morton Stadium, Swords Road, Santry Demesne, Dublin, Dublin 9, D09 RV1

F25A/0720E · FingalGranted

up to 3 storeys · 4.965 ha · Granted · permission to Apr 2031 (estimate)

Planning application F25A/0720E to Fingal County Council: Proposed multi-purpose Indoor sports, recreation and community facility, demolition of existing East Stand, at Morton Stadium, Swords Road, Santry Demesne. Granted by the council on 2 April 2026. The permission normally runs to April 2031 (an estimate: the grant plus five years).

Timeline

  1. Application lodged
  2. Further information requested
  3. Further information received
  4. Council granted
  5. Permission normally ends (estimate)

The end date is an estimate: the grant plus five years, the normal life of a permission. An extension or a commencement changes it.

Key facts

Reference
F25A/0720E
Planning authority
Fingal County Council
Received
8 Aug 2025
Decided
2 Apr 2026
Status
Granted
Application type
Commercial
Use
Civic or community
Floor area (estimated)
3,600 m²
Read from the description, not stated on the register.
Site area
4.965 ha
Further information requested
18 Dec 2025
Further information received
6 Mar 2026

Homes and mix

  • 44 cycle parking spaces
  • ESB substations

Read from the description, not stated on the register. Shown only where the parts add up to the total.

Proposed development

Proposed multi-purpose Indoor sports, recreation and community facility, demolition of existing East Stand, new covered spectator seating to existing north and south stands and associated landscaping works for Dublin City University at Morton Stadium: the national athletics stadium. Includes demolitions of existing east stand terrace and ancillary undercroft accommodation; proposed new indoor athletes training facility, 2-3 storey in height of c. 10.5m and an approximate new overall building area of 3,600 sq.m, incorporating indoor running track, Gymnasium, jumps areas, meeting rooms, media facilities and admin office, changing village, public toilets, storage, spectator seating, associated stadium branding, landscaping, and ancillary accommodation; alterations to the existing vehicular entrance to the east of the site to provide for new pedestrian plaza and installation of new pedestrian entrance to southeast of the site; relocation of existing ESB substation from existing East stand to the south of the site; proposed location for bus set down area; associated site and wayfinding signage; site development works comprising new/altered site access provision and exit points along the public road Swords Road, including demolitions of existing boundary walls, enhancements to existing car parking, provision of 44 no. cycle parking spaces, new hard surfaced areas to new East stand redevelopment area and associated public lighting, upgrades to existing stadium floodlighting; alterations to boundary treatments including associated demolitions and adjustments to ground levels, mainly at proposed new indoor athletes building area location, all associated signage/branding, hard and soft landscaping, services above and below ground, including new foul connection and all ancillary associated site development works.

Planning status

Permission was granted on 2 Apr 2026. The four-week appeal period has passed with no appeal recorded, so the permission is final. Works can start once a commencement notice is lodged; the permission normally runs to Apr 2031 (estimate).

For the applicant

Is this your application?

Say it is yours and you will see which building firms and trades have asked to work on it, with the contact details they chose to leave. It is free and takes an email address. Nothing is shared with anyone unless you choose to contact them.

Sign in to claim itNo cold calls. Nothing is shared unless you choose to.
Free tool · no account needed

Buying or upgrading a home? Get a free solar, SEAI grant and deep-retrofit report.

Enter an address to see its solar potential, the full SEAI grant it qualifies for, and the BER-uplift economics of a deep retrofit - in one report, in minutes.

Nearby applications

Other applications on the Fingal register close to this address.

All Fingal planning applications

Related

About this page: the facts above come from the statutory public planning register kept by Fingal County Council and are refreshed weekly (last updated 21 Sept 2026). Applicant names and contact details are not shown. Status labels are PlanningLeads' plain-language reading of the register status and the "Use" label is classified by AI from the public description (see how we use AI); neither is legal advice and the council's file is the record. How we handle this data: privacy notice.

Remove my application from this page

If this is your application and you would rather it did not appear here, tell us and we will take the page down. No account, no questions asked: we only email you a link to confirm it was you. This is your right to object under GDPR Article 21.