Planning application · Dun Laoghaire Rathdown County Council

The application site is bound by Shanganagh Road to the east, Florenceville

a site containing Barn Close, Barn Close Lodge, Beechlands and Shanganagh Castle, on the Shanganagh Road, Shankill, Dublin 18 (Protected Structure)

D26A/0008/WEB · Dun Laoghaire RathdownGranted

up to 2 storeys · 1.505 ha · Granted · permission to Sept 2031 (estimate)

Planning application D26A/0008/WEB to Dun Laoghaire Rathdown County Council: The application site is bound by Shanganagh Road to the east, Florenceville and Mill Lane to the north, and Broomfield Court, at a site containing Barn Close, Barn Close Lodge, Beechlands. Granted by the council on 15 September 2026. The permission normally runs to September 2031 (an estimate: the grant plus five years).

Timeline

  1. Application lodged
  2. Further information requested
  3. Further information received
  4. Council granted
  5. Permission normally ends (estimate)

The end date is an estimate: the grant plus five years, the normal life of a permission. An extension or a commencement changes it.

Key facts

Reference
D26A/0008/WEB
Planning authority
Dun Laoghaire Rathdown County Council
Received
9 Jan 2026
Decided
15 Sept 2026
Status
Granted
Application type
Residential
Use
Residential
Dwellings (estimated)
70
Read from the description, not stated on the register.
Site area
1.505 ha
Further information requested
5 Mar 2026
Further information received
9 Jun 2026

Homes and mix

1-bed9
2-bed26
3-bed33
5-bed2
Total homes70
  • 73 car parking spaces

Read from the description, not stated on the register. Shown only where the parts add up to the total.

Proposed development

The application site is bound by Shanganagh Road to the east, Florenceville (a protected structure) and Mill Lane to the north, and Broomfield Court and Seaview Lawn / Park residential areas to the west. The site contains Shanganagh Castle (a recorded archaeological monument - RMP Ref.: 026-031001), Beechlands House and Barn Close (both protected structures). The proposed development consists of demolition of the bungalow (Barn Close Lodge) and existing outbuildings. Refurbishment of Beechlands House and Barn Close as 2 no. 5 bed dwellings. Provision of a total of 68 no. residential units, comprising: 29 no. 2 storey 3 bed houses; 8 no. duplex units comprising 4 no. 2 bed units and 4 no. of 3 bed units; 31 no. apartments comprising 9 no. 1 bed apartments and 22 no. 2 bed apartments. Retention and structural works to Shanganagh Castle. Vehicular and pedestrian access via upgrade of existing entrance from Shanganagh Road. Alterations and improvements to Shanganagh Road including provision of footpath and new pedestrian crossing. 73 no. car parking spaces and 101 no. of cycle parking spaces. Infrastructural works including drainage, landscaping, and public and communal open space.

Planning status

Permission was granted on 15 Sept 2026. The four-week appeal period has passed with no appeal recorded, so the permission is final. Works can start once a commencement notice is lodged; the permission normally runs to Sept 2031 (estimate).

For the applicant

Is this your application?

Say it is yours and you will see which building firms and trades have asked to work on it, with the contact details they chose to leave. It is free and takes an email address. Nothing is shared with anyone unless you choose to contact them.

Sign in to claim itNo cold calls. Nothing is shared unless you choose to.
Free tool · no account needed

Buying or upgrading a home? Get a free solar, SEAI grant and deep-retrofit report.

Enter an address to see its solar potential, the full SEAI grant it qualifies for, and the BER-uplift economics of a deep retrofit - in one report, in minutes.

Nearby applications

Other applications on the Dun Laoghaire Rathdown register close to this address.

All Dun Laoghaire Rathdown planning applications

Related

About this page: the facts above come from the statutory public planning register kept by Dun Laoghaire Rathdown County Council and are refreshed weekly (last updated 22 Sept 2026). Applicant names and contact details are not shown. Status labels are PlanningLeads' plain-language reading of the register status and the "Use" label is classified by AI from the public description (see how we use AI); neither is legal advice and the council's file is the record. How we handle this data: privacy notice.

Remove my application from this page

If this is your application and you would rather it did not appear here, tell us and we will take the page down. No account, no questions asked: we only email you a link to confirm it was you. This is your right to object under GDPR Article 21.