Planning application · Dun Laoghaire Rathdown County Council

Strategic housing development at Baker’s Corner, Rochestown Avenue and Kill Avenue

0.483ha lands at Baker’s Corner, Rochestown Avenue and Kill Avenue, Dun Laoghaire, Co. Dublin, A96TD77

ABP31141121/E · Dun Laoghaire RathdownGranted

up to 6 storeys · 0.4869 ha · Granted · permission to Jul 2031 (estimate)

Planning application ABP31141121/E to Dun Laoghaire Rathdown County Council: Strategic housing development for student accommodation shall provide for 276no. bedspaces with associated facilities, a public house, at Baker’s Corner, Rochestown Avenue and Kill Avenue, Dun Laoghaire. Granted by the council on 23 July 2026. The permission normally runs to July 2031 (an estimate: the grant plus five years).

Timeline

  1. Application lodged
  2. Council granted
  3. Permission normally ends (estimate)

The end date is an estimate: the grant plus five years, the normal life of a permission. An extension or a commencement changes it.

Key facts

Reference
ABP31141121/E
Planning authority
Dun Laoghaire Rathdown County Council
Received
22 Jun 2026
Decided
23 Jul 2026
Status
Granted
Application type
Mixed
Use
Mixed_use
Dwellings (estimated)
276
Read from the description, not stated on the register.
Floor area
8,677 m²
Site area
0.4869 ha

Homes and mix

  • 2 retail or commercial units
  • 34 car parking spaces
  • 330 cycle parking spaces
  • ESB substations

Read from the description, not stated on the register. Shown only where the parts add up to the total.

Proposed development

Permission for a strategic housing development for student accommodation shall provide for 276no. bedspaces with associated facilities, a public house, 2no. commercial units and ESB Substation. The development will include the following: Demolition of existing Bakers Corner Public House approximately 1,378sqm Construction of a replacement public house of approximately 292.4sqm at the Kill Avenue Frontage with adjoining ESB substation (14.4sqm) and switch room (7sqm) Construction of a student accommodation development with an overall gross floor area of approx. 8,677 sqm (internal) in two blocks of 5 to 6 storeys (Bakers Corner Building – Building A) and 4 to 6 storeys (Main Student Accommodation Building – Building B). The development will provide for a total of 276 student bed spaces grouped into 38 no. clusters of six, seven and eight bedrooms with associated kitchen/dining/living areas Ancillary student support facilities are also proposed at ground floor level of the main student accommodation building (Building B), including: a common room/reception (169.2sqm), management office (16.2sqm), administration space (21.3sqm), Post/Comms area (15.4sqm) meeting room (41.6 sqm), store (18.6 sqm), canteen (22.5 sqm), Toilets and Shower Room (38.9 sqm), laundry (27.3 sqm), cinema room (43 sqm), gym (28.3 sqm), and break out space (45 sqm); and at fifth floor level 2no. communal lounges (27.5 sqm and 46.8 sqm(including Kitchenette)); totaling approx. 843.1 sqm. New Public/Urban Square with pedestrian routes, public seating, landscaped spaces and outdoor seating associated with commercial uses; The provision of communal lounges (12.2sqm each) on floors 1 to 4 of the Bakers Corner Building (Building A). The provision of 2no. commercial units (approx. 127.5 sqm and 273.3sqm) at the ground floor level fronting Rochestown Avenue in the Student Accommodation Building ('Building B') and the Bakers Corner Building ('Building A') respectively. The realignment of the existing car parking spaces to provide 34 no. car parking spaces (including 3 no. Accessible car parking spaces), 1 no. loading bay and 330 no. bicycle parking spaces at surface level and in secure stacked cycle parking store. Waste management area (24.8sqm) and plant room (60.9sqm) at ground floor level. Alterations to the existing vehicular and pedestrian entrances from Rochestown Avenue including the provision of a formalised pedestrian route, and the creation of a new pedestrian and cyclist entrance via Kill Avenue. Associated site and infrastructural works including the provision for water services, foul and surface water drainage and connections; attenuation proposals; permeable paving; all landscaping works including the provision of 3 no. roof terraces at fifth floor level (approx. 451 sqm, 150sqm and 60sqm sqm respectively); green roofs (97sqm and 142sqm), boundary treatments, electrical services and all associated site works. The application contains a statement setting out how the proposal will be consistent with the objectives of the relevant development plan. The application contains a statement indicating why permission should be granted for the proposed development, having regard to a consideration specified in section 37(2)(b) of the Planning and Development Act, 2000, as amended, notwithstanding that the proposed development materially contravenes a relevant development plan or local area plan other than in relation to the zoning of the land.

Planning status

Permission was granted on 23 Jul 2026. The four-week appeal period has passed with no appeal recorded, so the permission is final. Works can start once a commencement notice is lodged; the permission normally runs to Jul 2031 (estimate).

For the applicant

Is this your application?

Say it is yours and you will see which building firms and trades have asked to work on it, with the contact details they chose to leave. It is free and takes an email address. Nothing is shared with anyone unless you choose to contact them.

Sign in to claim itNo cold calls. Nothing is shared unless you choose to.
Free tool · no account needed

Buying or upgrading a home? Get a free solar, SEAI grant and deep-retrofit report.

Enter an address to see its solar potential, the full SEAI grant it qualifies for, and the BER-uplift economics of a deep retrofit - in one report, in minutes.

Nearby applications

Other applications on the Dun Laoghaire Rathdown register close to this address.

All Dun Laoghaire Rathdown planning applications

Related

About this page: the facts above come from the statutory public planning register kept by Dun Laoghaire Rathdown County Council and are refreshed weekly (last updated 2 Sept 2026). Applicant names and contact details are not shown. Status labels are PlanningLeads' plain-language reading of the register status and the "Use" label is classified by AI from the public description (see how we use AI); neither is legal advice and the council's file is the record. How we handle this data: privacy notice.

Remove my application from this page

If this is your application and you would rather it did not appear here, tell us and we will take the page down. No account, no questions asked: we only email you a link to confirm it was you. This is your right to object under GDPR Article 21.