Planning application · Dublin City Council

Development at City Block No. 9, North Wall Quay and Mayor Street Upper

City Block No. 9, North Wall Quay and Mayor Street Upper, Dublin 1

WEBDSDZ1646/26 · DublinGranted

up to 10 storeys · 0.2164 ha · Granted · permission to Jun 2031 (estimate)

Planning application WEBDSDZ1646/26 to Dublin City Council at City Block No. 9, North Wall Quay and Mayor Street Upper. Granted by the council on 12 June 2026. The permission normally runs to June 2031 (an estimate: the grant plus five years).

Timeline

  1. Application lodged
  2. Further information requested
  3. Further information received
  4. Council granted
  5. Permission normally ends (estimate)

The end date is an estimate: the grant plus five years, the normal life of a permission. An extension or a commencement changes it.

Key facts

Reference
WEBDSDZ1646/26
Planning authority
Dublin City Council
Received
19 Mar 2026
Decided
12 Jun 2026
Status
Granted
Use
Hospitality
Floor area (estimated)
0 m²
Read from the description, not stated on the register.
Site area
0.2164 ha
Further information requested
11 May 2026
Further information received
19 May 2026

Homes and mix

  • 23 cycle parking spaces

Read from the description, not stated on the register. Shown only where the parts add up to the total.

Proposed development

Waterside Block 9 Developments Limited intends to apply for planning permission for development on this site of c. 0.22 hectares located within City Block No. 9 (of the North Lotts & Grand Canal Dock Strategic Development Zone Planning Scheme, 2014), North Wall Quay and Mayor Street Upper, Dublin 1. The proposed development comprises the replacement of a previously-permitted commercial office building (Block No. 1, permitted under Reg. Ref. DSDZ5296/22 (“Scheme 9”)) with an aparthotel development and associated ancillary uses. (For the purposes of identification, we reference this proposal as “Scheme 18”.) The development will consist of: 1. The construction of an eight-storey aparthotel building (comprising 288 No. bedrooms) over basement (annotated as Lower Ground and Lower Ground Mezzanine levels), with a total gross floor area of 12,684 sq m. Due to the inclusion of lower ground levels, the building will present as ten storeys on the eastern elevation and eight storeys on the surrounding streets, in accordance with the North Lotts & Grand Canal Dock Planning Scheme 2014 (as amended). 2. Provision of a publicly accessible café/lounge at ground floor level, including flexible “black box” space to accommodate evening and night-time uses, an ancillary gym at lower ground level, an electricity substation, and associated back-of-house facilities including kitchen, servicing, deliveries and waste management areas. 3. Provision of 23 No. bicycle parking spaces, comprising 12 No. long-stay spaces internally and 11 No. short-stay visitor spaces externally (including 1 No. cargo bicycle space). 4. Provision of an external landscaped area at lower ground level to the east of the building. 5. Minor adjustment to external ground levels (from 4.0m OD to 4.1m OD) to align with the adjoining permitted Block No. 2 development (Reg. Ref. WEBDSDZ1931/25). 6. Provision of associated signage, plant at roof level, and all ancillary site development works above and below ground. The proposed aparthotel development will replace the previously-permitted Block No. 1 office building (11,916 sq m). The remainder of City Block No. 9 (including permitted Blocks No. 2 and No. 3) is not affected by this application. The site is bounded by Mayor Street Upper to the north, Castleforbes Road to the west, permitted Block No. 2 to the south, and adjoining lands within City Block No. 9 to the east.

Planning status

Permission was granted on 12 Jun 2026. The four-week appeal period has passed with no appeal recorded, so the permission is final. Works can start once a commencement notice is lodged; the permission normally runs to Jun 2031 (estimate).

For the applicant

Is this your application?

Say it is yours and you will see which building firms and trades have asked to work on it, with the contact details they chose to leave. It is free and takes an email address. Nothing is shared with anyone unless you choose to contact them.

Sign in to claim itNo cold calls. Nothing is shared unless you choose to.
Free tool · no account needed

Buying or upgrading a home? Get a free solar, SEAI grant and deep-retrofit report.

Enter an address to see its solar potential, the full SEAI grant it qualifies for, and the BER-uplift economics of a deep retrofit - in one report, in minutes.

Nearby applications

Other applications on the Dublin register close to this address.

All Dublin planning applications

Related

About this page: the facts above come from the statutory public planning register kept by Dublin City Council and are refreshed weekly (last updated 21 Sept 2026). Applicant names and contact details are not shown. Status labels are PlanningLeads' plain-language reading of the register status and the "Use" label is classified by AI from the public description (see how we use AI); neither is legal advice and the council's file is the record. How we handle this data: privacy notice.

Remove my application from this page

If this is your application and you would rather it did not appear here, tell us and we will take the page down. No account, no questions asked: we only email you a link to confirm it was you. This is your right to object under GDPR Article 21.