Planning application · Dublin City Council

Development at 36 & 37 Avenue Road, Portobello

36 & 37 Avenue Road, Portobello, Dublin 8

WEB1820/26 · DublinGranted

up to 3 storeys · 0.0314 ha · Granted · permission to Jun 2031 (estimate)

Planning application WEB1820/26 to Dublin City Council at 36 & 37 Avenue Road, Portobello. Granted by the council on 3 June 2026. The permission normally runs to June 2031 (an estimate: the grant plus five years).

This application amends 5265/22, which carries the original file.

Timeline

  1. Application lodged
  2. Council granted
  3. Permission normally ends (estimate)

The end date is an estimate: the grant plus five years, the normal life of a permission. An extension or a commencement changes it.

Key facts

Reference
WEB1820/26
Planning authority
Dublin City Council
Received
9 Apr 2026
Decided
3 Jun 2026
Status
Granted
Use
Mixed_use
Dwellings (estimated)
3
Read from the description, not stated on the register.
Site area
0.0314 ha

Homes and mix

Houses3
Total homes3

Read from the description, not stated on the register. Shown only where the parts add up to the total.

Proposed development

Dublin City Council - I, [name removed], intend to apply for permission for development at this site at at 36 & 37 Avenue Road, Portobello, Dublin 8. The development amends a permitted residential development granted under DCC Reg. Ref. 5265/22. The development will consist of : Minor modifications to the front elevation and minor changes to finished floor levels and parapet heights. All other development details will remain unchanged and will consist of the demolition of existing commercial buildings on site; construction of a residential development of 3 no. terraced houses comprising 1 No. 2 bedroom, 2 storey dwelling and 2 no. 2-3 storey dwellings; private amenity space (gardens) to the rear at ground floor and private terraces to front and rear at 2nd floor level; all ancillary site development works and services.

Planning status

Permission was granted on 3 Jun 2026. The four-week appeal period has passed with no appeal recorded, so the permission is final. Works can start once a commencement notice is lodged; the permission normally runs to Jun 2031 (estimate).

For the applicant

Is this your application?

Say it is yours and you will see which building firms and trades have asked to work on it, with the contact details they chose to leave. It is free and takes an email address. Nothing is shared with anyone unless you choose to contact them.

Sign in to claim itNo cold calls. Nothing is shared unless you choose to.
Free tool · no account needed

Buying or upgrading a home? Get a free solar, SEAI grant and deep-retrofit report.

Enter an address to see its solar potential, the full SEAI grant it qualifies for, and the BER-uplift economics of a deep retrofit - in one report, in minutes.

Nearby applications

Other applications on the Dublin register close to this address.

All Dublin planning applications

Related

About this page: the facts above come from the statutory public planning register kept by Dublin City Council and are refreshed weekly (last updated 21 Sept 2026). Applicant names and contact details are not shown. Status labels are PlanningLeads' plain-language reading of the register status and the "Use" label is classified by AI from the public description (see how we use AI); neither is legal advice and the council's file is the record. How we handle this data: privacy notice.

Remove my application from this page

If this is your application and you would rather it did not appear here, tell us and we will take the page down. No account, no questions asked: we only email you a link to confirm it was you. This is your right to object under GDPR Article 21.