Planning application · Dublin City Council

Demolition of the existing two storey mixed-use buildings at 146-147

146-147 Phibsborough Road & 10 Eglinton Terrace, Dublin 7

3391/20 · DublinOn SiteGranted on appeal

up to 6 storeys · 0.1448 ha · Granted on appeal, December 2021

Planning application 3391/20 to Dublin City Council: Demolition of the existing two storey mixed-use buildings at 146-147 Phibsborough Road. Granted by the council on 2 June 2021; granted on appeal by An Coimisiún Pleanála on 13 December 2021. Work commenced on 24 December 2024.

Timeline

  1. Application lodged
  2. Further information requested
  3. Further information received
  4. Council granted
  5. Appealed to An Coimisiún Pleanála
  6. Granted on appeal
  7. Work commenced

Key facts

Reference
3391/20
Planning authority
Dublin City Council
Received
16 Sept 2020
Decided
2 Jun 2021
Status
On Site
Use
Mixed_use
Dwellings (estimated)
17
Read from the description, not stated on the register.
Floor area
1,985 m²
Site area
0.1448 ha
Further information requested
10 Nov 2020
Further information received
6 May 2021
Commenced
24 Dec 2024
Appeal
ABP-310686-21 · Granted on appeal

Homes and mix

Apartments and duplexes17
1-bed9
2-bed8
Total homes17
  • 3 car parking spaces

Read from the description, not stated on the register. Shown only where the parts add up to the total.

Proposed development

The development will consist of the demolition of the existing two storey mixed-use buildings at 146-147 Phibsborough Road and a derelict single storey dwelling known as 10 Eglington Terrace to the rear and construction of new mixed-use development. The proposed development is for a mixed-use block consisting of a restaurant & cafe space together with associated waste management and plant room areas totalling 325 sq.m. at ground floor level. The upper levels will comprise 17 No. apartments above provided in 2.No blocks of six storeys to Phibsborough Road, five storeys to the rear set around a central courtyard space at first floor level containing the lift and access decks. Recessed balconies are provided throughout and projecting balconies are provided to the east elevation of the rear block. The apartments consist of nine one-bedroom apartments and eight two-bedroom apartments totalling 1492 sq.m including external circulation access decks. The proposed development also consists of 2.No three bedroom two storey townhouses totalling 207 sq.m. with private gardens and 3 No. car parking spaces to the rear. Vehicular access to the development is via the existing entrance to the St. Peter's Square Development while the townhouses are accessed separately via a laneway from Royal Canal Bank. Proposed landscaping and associated ancillary works include a communal open space, bicycle parking, permeable paving to the existing car parking area where 2. No. Spaces will be dedicated to the apartments in the new development.

Planning status

Permission was granted on appeal by An Coimisiún Pleanála on 13 Dec 2021, and a commencement notice has been lodged: works are under way or about to start.

Appeal ABP-310686-21 on the An Coimisiún Pleanála website ↗

For the applicant

Is this your application?

Say it is yours and you will see which building firms and trades have asked to work on it, with the contact details they chose to leave. It is free and takes an email address. Nothing is shared with anyone unless you choose to contact them.

Sign in to claim itNo cold calls. Nothing is shared unless you choose to.
Free tool · no account needed

Buying or upgrading a home? Get a free solar, SEAI grant and deep-retrofit report.

Enter an address to see its solar potential, the full SEAI grant it qualifies for, and the BER-uplift economics of a deep retrofit - in one report, in minutes.

Nearby applications

Other applications on the Dublin register close to this address.

All Dublin planning applications

Related

About this page: the facts above come from the statutory public planning register kept by Dublin City Council and are refreshed weekly (last updated 21 Sept 2026). Applicant names and contact details are not shown. Status labels are PlanningLeads' plain-language reading of the register status and the "Use" label is classified by AI from the public description (see how we use AI); neither is legal advice and the council's file is the record. How we handle this data: privacy notice.

Remove my application from this page

If this is your application and you would rather it did not appear here, tell us and we will take the page down. No account, no questions asked: we only email you a link to confirm it was you. This is your right to object under GDPR Article 21.