Planning application · Donegal County Council

Change of use from café / ancillary use to 5 no. apartment units at 63 Upper Main Street, Letterkenny

63 UPPER MAIN STREET, LETTERKENNY, CO. DONEGAL

2660765 · DonegalGranted

0.041 ha · Granted · permission to Jul 2031

Planning application 2660765 to Donegal County Council: Change of use from café / ancillary use to 5 no. apartment units and ancillary storage situated over lower ground floor, at 63 Upper Main Street, Letterkenny. Granted by the council on 18 June 2026. The register gives the permission's end as 21 July 2031.

Timeline

  1. Application lodged
  2. Council granted
  3. Permission ends (date on the register)

The end date is the one the council register states. An extension or a commencement changes it.

Key facts

Reference
2660765
Planning authority
Donegal County Council
Received
30 Apr 2026
Decided
18 Jun 2026
Status
Granted
Use
Residential
Dwellings (estimated)
5
Read from the description, not stated on the register.
Site area
0.041 ha

Homes and mix

Apartments and duplexes5
Total homes5

Read from the description, not stated on the register. Shown only where the parts add up to the total.

Proposed development

(1) CHANGE OF USE FROM CAFÉ / ANCILLARY USE TO 5 NO. APARTMENT UNITS AND ANCILLARY STORAGE SITUATED OVER LOWER GROUND FLOOR, UPPER GROUND FLOOR AND FIRST FLOOR LEVELS, (2) PART DEMOLITION OF LOWER GROUND FLOOR BOILER ROOM AND STORE, REMOVAL OF EXTERNAL ACCESS STAIRS SERVING UPPER GROUND FLOOR LEVEL AND REMOVAL OF EXTERNAL CHIMNEY, ALL TO REAR OF PROPERTY, (3) CONSTRUCTION OF NEW REAR EXTENSION STAIR CORE AND EXTERNAL ACCESS STAIRS TO SERVE UPPER GROUND FLOOR AND FIRST FLOOR LEVELS, ALL TO REAR OF PROPERTY, (4) INTERNAL AND EXTERNAL RENOVATIONS TO THE BUILDING FABRIC WITH ALTERATIONS TO REMAINING EXISTING STRUCTURE INCLUDING ALL ASSOCIATED ELEVATIONAL CHANGES AND (5) ALL ASSOCIATED SITE DEVELOPMENT WORKS, LANDSCAPING, CAR PARKING AND CONNECTIONS TO EXISTING PUBLIC SERVICES

Planning status

Permission was granted on 18 Jun 2026. The four-week appeal period has passed with no appeal recorded, so the permission is final. Works can start once a commencement notice is lodged; the register gives its end as 21 Jul 2031.

For the applicant

Is this your application?

Say it is yours and you will see which building firms and trades have asked to work on it, with the contact details they chose to leave. It is free and takes an email address. Nothing is shared with anyone unless you choose to contact them.

Sign in to claim itNo cold calls. Nothing is shared unless you choose to.
Free tool · no account needed

Planning something similar? Check whether you need permission at all.

Since the 2026 regulations many smaller projects are exempt. Answer a few questions about your own job and get the verdict with the regulation it rests on - in about a minute.

Nearby applications

Other applications on the Donegal register close to this address.

All Donegal planning applications

Related

About this page: the facts above come from the statutory public planning register kept by Donegal County Council and are refreshed weekly (last updated 21 Sept 2026). Applicant names and contact details are not shown. Status labels are PlanningLeads' plain-language reading of the register status and the "Use" label is classified by AI from the public description (see how we use AI); neither is legal advice and the council's file is the record. How we handle this data: privacy notice.

Remove my application from this page

If this is your application and you would rather it did not appear here, tell us and we will take the page down. No account, no questions asked: we only email you a link to confirm it was you. This is your right to object under GDPR Article 21.