Planning application · Donegal County Council

Construction of a new permanent part 3-storey at Causeway Road, Ballymacarry

CAUSEWAY ROAD, BALLYMACARRY, BUNCRANA

2660378 · DonegalLodged

up to 3 storeys · 4 ha · Lodged

Planning application 2660378 to Donegal County Council: Construction of a new permanent part 3-storey, part 2-storey post primary school for crana college and coláiste eoghain, at Causeway Road, Ballymacarry, Buncrana.

Timeline

  1. Application lodged
  2. Further information requested

Key facts

Reference
2660378
Planning authority
Donegal County Council
Received
10 Mar 2026
Status
Lodged
Use
Civic or community
Floor area (estimated)
13,497 m²
Read from the description, not stated on the register.
Site area
4 ha
Further information requested
30 Apr 2026

Homes and mix

  • ESB substations

Read from the description, not stated on the register. Shown only where the parts add up to the total.

Proposed development

(I) CONSTRUCTION OF A NEW PERMANENT PART 3-STOREY, PART 2-STOREY POST PRIMARY SCHOOL FOR CRANA COLLEGE AND COLÁISTE EOGHAIN (13,497SQ.M GROSS FLOOR AREA) WITH ASSOCIATED EXTERNAL SIGNAGE. THE CONSTITUENT ELEMENTS OF THE NEW POST PRIMARY SCHOOL COMPRISE OF (A) 31 NO. GENERAL CLASSROOMS, 24 NO. SPECIALIST CLASSROOMS, 4 NO. SPECIAL NEEDS CLASSROOMS WITHIN A SPECIAL EDUCATIONAL NEEDS SUITE, MP HALL AND ASSOCIATED PE ANCILLARY ACCOMMODATION, STAFFROOM, DOUBLE HEIGHT LIBRARY, ADMINISTRATION ROOMS, TOILETS, STORES, GENERAL ANCILLARY ACCOMMODATION AND A DOUBLE HEIGHT GENERAL PURPOSE ROOM WITH ASSOCIATED KITCHENS AND STORES, (II) CONSTRUCTION OF A NEW PART 2-STOREY, PART SINGLE STOREY PRIMARY SCHOOL FOR GAELSCOIL BHUN CRANNCHA (2,459SQ.M GROSS FLOOR AREA) WITH ASSOCIATED EXTERNAL SIGNAGE. THE CONSTITUENT ELEMENTS OF THE NEW PRIMARY SCHOOL COMPRISE; (A) 8 NO. GENERAL CLASSROOMS, 2 NO. SPECIAL NEEDS CLASSROOMS WITHIN A SPECIAL EDUCATIONAL NEEDS SUITE, GP HALL, STAFFROOM, LIBRARY, ADMINISTRATION ROOMS, TOILETS, STORES AND GENERAL ANCILLARY ACCOMMODATION, (III) EXTERNAL COVERED AREA WITH EXTERNAL CONSTRUCTION STUDIES STORE AND BIN STORE (123SQ.M GROSS FLOOR AREA) FOR THE POST PRIMARY SCHOOL, AIR SOURCE HEAT PUMP COMPOUNDS, LPG GAS COMPOUNDS AND AN ESB SUBSTATION (34SQ.M GROSS FLOOR AREA), (IV) SITE DEVELOPMENT WORKS INCLUDING NEW VEHICULAR/PEDESTRIAN & CYCLE INGRESS FROM CAUSEWAY ROAD AND EGRESS ONTO TAOBH AN TSRUTHAN, (V) CARPARKING AND SET-DOWN SPACES FOR THE POST PRIMARY SCHOOL INCLUDING 75 NO. STANDARD CAR PARKING SPACES FOR STAFF/VISITORS AND 5 NO. UNIVERSALLY ACCESSIBLE PARKING SPACES WITH CYCLE PARKING FOR 140 NO. BICYCLES, (VI) CARPARKING AND SET-DOWN SPACES FOR THE PRIMARY SCHOOL, INCLUDING 18 NO. STANDARD CAR PARKING SPACES FOR STAFF/VISITORS AND 3 NO. UNIVERSALLY ACCESSIBLE PARKING SPACES WITH CYCLE PARKING FOR 25 NO. BICYCLES, (VII) 5 NO. HARD PLAY/MUGA COURTS FOR THE POST PRIMARY SCHOOL AND 1 HARD COURT FOR THE PRIMARY SCHOOL, (VIII) ROOF MOUNTED PHOTOVOLTAIC ARRAYS AND WATER TANK STORAGE FOR BOTH SCHOOLS, (IX) THE PROPOSED DEVELOPMENT ALSO INCLUDES HARD & SOFT LANDSCAPING, GRASSED PLAY SPACE, OUTER ACTIVITY COURTYARDS, RESOURCE AREAS, SEN GARDEN/PLAY SPACES AND ASSOCIATED SITE DEVELOPMENT AND SERVICE INFRASTRUCTURE

Planning status

The application has been lodged and validated. The council has eight weeks to decide, unless it asks for further information.

For the applicant

Is this your application?

Say it is yours and you will see which building firms and trades have asked to work on it, with the contact details they chose to leave. It is free and takes an email address. Nothing is shared with anyone unless you choose to contact them.

Sign in to claim itNo cold calls. Nothing is shared unless you choose to.
Free tool · no account needed

Buying or upgrading a home? Get a free solar, SEAI grant and deep-retrofit report.

Enter an address to see its solar potential, the full SEAI grant it qualifies for, and the BER-uplift economics of a deep retrofit - in one report, in minutes.

Nearby applications

Other applications on the Donegal register close to this address.

All Donegal planning applications

Related

About this page: the facts above come from the statutory public planning register kept by Donegal County Council and are refreshed weekly (last updated 20 Jun 2026). Applicant names and contact details are not shown. Status labels are PlanningLeads' plain-language reading of the register status and the "Use" label is classified by AI from the public description (see how we use AI); neither is legal advice and the council's file is the record. How we handle this data: privacy notice.

Remove my application from this page

If this is your application and you would rather it did not appear here, tell us and we will take the page down. No account, no questions asked: we only email you a link to confirm it was you. This is your right to object under GDPR Article 21.