Planning application · Clare County Council

Retail development at Shannon Town Centre, Tullyvarraga

Shannon Town Centre, Tullyvarraga, Shannon Co. Clare

2560699 · ClareGranted

1.329 ha · Granted · permission to Sept 2031

Planning application 2560699 to Clare County Council at Shannon Town Centre, Tullyvarraga, Shannon. Granted by the council on 13 August 2026. The register gives the permission's end as 20 September 2031.

Timeline

  1. Application lodged
  2. Further information requested
  3. Further information received
  4. Council granted
  5. Permission ends (date on the register)

The end date is the one the council register states. An extension or a commencement changes it.

Key facts

Reference
2560699
Planning authority
Clare County Council
Received
14 Nov 2025
Decided
13 Aug 2026
Status
Granted
Use
Retail
Floor area (estimated)
2,560 m²
Read from the description, not stated on the register.
Site area
1.329 ha
Further information requested
16 Jan 2026
Further information received
8 Jul 2026

Homes and mix

  • ESB substations

Read from the description, not stated on the register. Shown only where the parts add up to the total.

Proposed development

for the development on lands at Shannon Town Centre, Tullyvarraga, Shannon, Co. Clare. The proposed development consists of: Demolition of the existing Discount Foodstore (gross floor area 1,237 sq. m); Construction of a single storey Discount Foodstore comprising a gross floor area of 2,560 sq. m (net retail area 1,742 sq. m including Off-License area of 66 sq. m), incorporating internal plant room, ESB substation, switch room, storage rooms, chiller room and ancillary staff meeting and office rooms; Provision of plant area located on the roof of the Discount Foodstore (61.3 sq. m); Provision of site access via 2 no. existing vehicular junctions at Bóthar na Rinne at the western boundary of the site and Bóthar an Aerfoirt at the northern boundary of the site; Alterations to car parking layout providing 145 no. spaces (including 5 no. disabled spaces, 10 no. child & parent spaces and 2 no. EV charging spaces) and the provision of 36 no. bicycle spaces; Provision of roof mounted solar PV panels (gross floor area 978 sq. m); Erection of 2 no. flagpole mounted (internally illuminated) signs (total area 23.6 sq. m and height of 6m), 5 no. wall mounted (internally illuminated) building signs (total area 31.25 sq. m), 1 no. poster display board (illuminated case) sign (total area 1.7sq. m) and 3 no. billboard signs (externally illuminated) (total area 24 sq. m); All ancillary works required including revised drainage proposals, revised site lighting layout, revised bin cage and storage arrangements, revised trolley bay locations, landscaping, boundary treatments, traffic control measures, HGV/Loading Bay area and all site development works

Planning status

Permission was granted on 13 Aug 2026. The four-week appeal period has passed with no appeal recorded, so the permission is final. Works can start once a commencement notice is lodged; the register gives its end as 20 Sept 2031.

For the applicant

Is this your application?

Say it is yours and you will see which building firms and trades have asked to work on it, with the contact details they chose to leave. It is free and takes an email address. Nothing is shared with anyone unless you choose to contact them.

Sign in to claim itNo cold calls. Nothing is shared unless you choose to.
Free tool · no account needed

Buying or upgrading a home? Get a free solar, SEAI grant and deep-retrofit report.

Enter an address to see its solar potential, the full SEAI grant it qualifies for, and the BER-uplift economics of a deep retrofit - in one report, in minutes.

Nearby applications

Other applications on the Clare register close to this address.

All Clare planning applications

Related

About this page: the facts above come from the statutory public planning register kept by Clare County Council and are refreshed weekly (last updated 21 Sept 2026). Applicant names and contact details are not shown. Status labels are PlanningLeads' plain-language reading of the register status and the "Use" label is classified by AI from the public description (see how we use AI); neither is legal advice and the council's file is the record. How we handle this data: privacy notice.

Remove my application from this page

If this is your application and you would rather it did not appear here, tell us and we will take the page down. No account, no questions asked: we only email you a link to confirm it was you. This is your right to object under GDPR Article 21.