Planning application · Tipperary County Council

Demolition of the existing Lidl Licensed Discount Foodstore at Bank Place, Tipperary Town

Bank Place, Tipperary Town, Co. Tipperary

2127 · TipperaryGranted

up to 2 storeys · Granted · permission to Oct 2026

Planning application 2127 to Tipperary County Council: Demolition of the existing Lidl Licensed Discount Foodstore and the construction of a new mono-pitched Licenced Discount Foodstore, at Bank Place, Tipperary Town. Granted by the council on 27 September 2021. The register gives the permission's end as 30 October 2026.

Timeline

  1. Application lodged
  2. Further information requested
  3. Further information received
  4. Council granted
  5. Permission ends (date on the register)

The end date is the one the council register states. An extension or a commencement changes it.

Key facts

Reference
2127
Planning authority
Tipperary County Council
Received
14 Jan 2021
Decided
27 Sept 2021
Status
Granted
Use
Retail
Floor area (estimated)
2,102 m²
Read from the description, not stated on the register.
Further information requested
9 Mar 2021
Further information received
18 May 2021

Homes and mix

  • 114 car parking spaces
  • 8 cycle parking spaces
  • ESB substations

Read from the description, not stated on the register. Shown only where the parts add up to the total.

Proposed development

the demolition of the existing Lidl Licensed Discount Foodstore (1,340 sq m Gross Floor Space with 1,060 sq m Net Retail Floorspace) and the construction of a new mono-pitched Licenced Discount Foodstore with ancillary infrastructure and associated site development works (all totalling 2,102 sq m Gross Floor Space and ranging in height equivalent from 1 to 2 storeys) at a site of approximately 0.93 hectares. The construction of the proposed new single level Licenced Discount Foodstore (2,088 sq m Gross Floor Area) comprises of a retail sales with ancillary off-licence use and bakery (total Net Retails Floorspace of 1,423 sq m), entrance pod, public facilities (incl. customer lobby and toilets), staff facilities (incl. cloakroom, toilets, staff canteen welfare lobbies, operational office, meeting and I.T rooms), storage (incl. cold storage), plant room and delivery area; rooftop photovoltaic solar panel array totalling 910 sq m; corporate signage consisting of 2 no. building mounted corporate internally illuminated signs, 3 no. wall mounted externally illuminated poster panel display boards and 1 no. free standing internally illuminated Flag Pole sign at entrance; 114 no. surface car parking spaces (8 no. disabled, 4 no parent and child, 2 no. EV charging spaces and 100 no. regular); 8 no. bicycle parking spaces; primary vehicular and pedestrian entrance access to the proposed new Licenced Discount Foodstore development will be via a repositioned enhanced site entrance onto Bank Place; and boundary treatments, hard and soft landscaping, services (incl. relocation of ESB substation into a 14 sq m Gross Floor Space building) and all other ancillary and associated site development works above and below ground level

Planning status

Permission was granted on 27 Sept 2021. The four-week appeal period has passed with no appeal recorded, so the permission is final. Works can start once a commencement notice is lodged; the register gives its end as 30 Oct 2026.

For the applicant

Is this your application?

Say it is yours and you will see which building firms and trades have asked to work on it, with the contact details they chose to leave. It is free and takes an email address. Nothing is shared with anyone unless you choose to contact them.

Sign in to claim itNo cold calls. Nothing is shared unless you choose to.
Free tool · no account needed

Buying or upgrading a home? Get a free solar, SEAI grant and deep-retrofit report.

Enter an address to see its solar potential, the full SEAI grant it qualifies for, and the BER-uplift economics of a deep retrofit - in one report, in minutes.

Nearby applications

Other applications on the Tipperary register close to this address.

All Tipperary planning applications

Related

About this page: the facts above come from the statutory public planning register kept by Tipperary County Council and are refreshed weekly (last updated 14 Sept 2026). Applicant names and contact details are not shown. Status labels are PlanningLeads' plain-language reading of the register status and the "Use" label is classified by AI from the public description (see how we use AI); neither is legal advice and the council's file is the record. How we handle this data: privacy notice.

Remove my application from this page

If this is your application and you would rather it did not appear here, tell us and we will take the page down. No account, no questions asked: we only email you a link to confirm it was you. This is your right to object under GDPR Article 21.