Planning application · South Dublin County Council

Demolition of the existing former Ulster Bank building at 24, Main Street

24, Main Street, Tallaght, Dublin 24, D24 Y033

SD24A/0893W · South DublinGrantedUnder appeal

up to 5 storeys · 0.011 ha · Under appeal since November 2025

Planning application SD24A/0893W to South Dublin County Council: Demolition of the existing former Ulster Bank building and the construction of two new buildings: a mixed-use building, at 24, Main Street, Tallaght. Granted by the council on 3 November 2025; now under appeal to An Coimisiún Pleanála.

Timeline

  1. Application lodged
  2. Further information requested
  3. Further information received
  4. Council granted
  5. Appealed to An Coimisiún Pleanála

Key facts

Reference
SD24A/0893W
Planning authority
South Dublin County Council
Lodged
20 Dec 2024
Decided
3 Nov 2025
Status
Granted
Use
Mixed_use
Dwellings (estimated)
26
Read from the description, not stated on the register.
Floor area
2,410 m²
Site area
0.011 ha
Further information requested
24 Feb 2025
Further information received
29 May 2025
Appeal
PL-500367-SD-25

Homes and mix

1-bed12
2-bed4
3-bed10
Total homes26
  • 1 retail or commercial unit

Read from the description, not stated on the register. Shown only where the parts add up to the total.

Proposed development

Demolition of the existing former Ulster Bank building and the construction of two new buildings: a mixed-use building (Block A) and a residential building (Block B). Block A is a proposed 3-storey accessed by Old Blessington Road (Main Street) and will consist of 1no. retail unit ( 76.5 sqm ) at the ground-floor and 4 no. apartment units ( 4 No. 1-bed units). Block B is a proposed 5-storey located to the rear of the site, accessed by a side lane connected to Old Blessington Road, consisting of 22 no. apartment units (8 No. 1-bed units, 4 No. 2-bed units, and 10 No. 3-bed units). The vehicular and pedestrian entrance is accessed by a side lane connected to Old Blessington Road. The development will also include associated private and communal open spaces, landscaping, bicycle storage, bin storage, retail storage, and all associated site works.

Planning status

The decision has been appealed to An Coimisiún Pleanála. The appeal outcome replaces the council decision.

Appeal PL-500367-SD-25 on the An Coimisiún Pleanála website ↗

For the applicant

Is this your application?

Say it is yours and you will see which building firms and trades have asked to work on it, with the contact details they chose to leave. It is free and takes an email address. Nothing is shared with anyone unless you choose to contact them.

Sign in to claim itNo cold calls. Nothing is shared unless you choose to.
Free tool · no account needed

Buying or upgrading a home? Get a free solar, SEAI grant and deep-retrofit report.

Enter an address to see its solar potential, the full SEAI grant it qualifies for, and the BER-uplift economics of a deep retrofit - in one report, in minutes.

Nearby applications

Other applications on the South Dublin register close to this address.

All South Dublin planning applications

Related

About this page: the facts above come from the statutory public planning register kept by South Dublin County Council and are refreshed weekly (last updated 7 Sept 2026). Applicant names and contact details are not shown. Status labels are PlanningLeads' plain-language reading of the register status and the "Use" label is classified by AI from the public description (see how we use AI); neither is legal advice and the council's file is the record. How we handle this data: privacy notice.

Remove my application from this page

If this is your application and you would rather it did not appear here, tell us and we will take the page down. No account, no questions asked: we only email you a link to confirm it was you. This is your right to object under GDPR Article 21.