Planning application · Limerick City and County Council

Retail development at Dublin Road, Newcastle

Dublin Road, Newcastle, Castletroy Co. Limerick

2561165 · LimerickGranted

0.954 ha · Granted · permission to Apr 2031

Planning application 2561165 to Limerick City and County Council at Dublin Road, Newcastle, Castletroy. Granted by the council on 10 March 2026. The register gives the permission's end as 12 April 2031.

Timeline

  1. Application lodged
  2. Further information requested
  3. Further information received
  4. Council granted
  5. Permission ends (date on the register)

The end date is the one the council register states. An extension or a commencement changes it.

Key facts

Reference
2561165
Planning authority
Limerick City and County Council
Received
12 Nov 2025
Decided
10 Mar 2026
Status
Granted
Use
Retail
Floor area (estimated)
2,580 m²
Read from the description, not stated on the register.
Site area
0.954 ha
Further information requested
14 Jan 2026
Further information received
12 Feb 2026

Homes and mix

  • ESB substations

Read from the description, not stated on the register. Shown only where the parts add up to the total.

Proposed development

a. Revised site boundary to increase the site area from 0.8471 hectares to 0.9545 hectares (site area increase of 0.1074 hectares); b. Construction of a single-storey extension to the existing Discount Foodstore, increasing the gross floor area from 2,097 sq. m to 2,580 sq. m (which includes a revised ground floor area increasing the warehouse area by 88 sq. m, the sales floor area by 386 sq. m and the internal walls area by 9 sq. m); the elevation treatments of the extension will match the materials of the existing store; c. Relocation of the plant area to the flat roof of the proposed extension; d. Relocation of the loading bay to facilitate revised HGV loading bay arrangement; e. Alterations to car parking layout providing an increased car parking supply from 109 no. spaces to 122 no. spaces, including 107 no. regular spaces, 07 no. disabled parking spaces, 06 no. parent & child parking spaces, 02 no. electric charging spaces; f. Construction of a single-storey external ESB substation and LV switch room (gross floor area of 37.21 sq. m); g. All ancillary works required including revised drainage proposals, revised site lighting layout, bin cage location, landscaping, boundary treatments and all associated site development works

Planning status

Permission was granted on 10 Mar 2026. The four-week appeal period has passed with no appeal recorded, so the permission is final. Works can start once a commencement notice is lodged; the register gives its end as 12 Apr 2031.

For the applicant

Is this your application?

Say it is yours and you will see which building firms and trades have asked to work on it, with the contact details they chose to leave. It is free and takes an email address. Nothing is shared with anyone unless you choose to contact them.

Sign in to claim itNo cold calls. Nothing is shared unless you choose to.
Free tool · no account needed

Planning something similar? Check whether you need permission at all.

Since the 2026 regulations many smaller projects are exempt. Answer a few questions about your own job and get the verdict with the regulation it rests on - in about a minute.

Nearby applications

Other applications on the Limerick register close to this address.

All Limerick planning applications

Related

About this page: the facts above come from the statutory public planning register kept by Limerick City and County Council and are refreshed weekly (last updated 21 Sept 2026). Applicant names and contact details are not shown. Status labels are PlanningLeads' plain-language reading of the register status and the "Use" label is classified by AI from the public description (see how we use AI); neither is legal advice and the council's file is the record. How we handle this data: privacy notice.

Remove my application from this page

If this is your application and you would rather it did not appear here, tell us and we will take the page down. No account, no questions asked: we only email you a link to confirm it was you. This is your right to object under GDPR Article 21.