Planning application · Dublin City Council

2 homes at No. 348 Harold's Cross Road

No. 348 Harold's Cross Road, Dublin 6W, D6W VW99

3356/24 · DublinGranted

2 homes · up to 5 storeys · 0.2179 ha · Granted · permission to Sept 2029 (estimate)

Planning application 3356/24 to Dublin City Council for 2 homes at No. 348 Harold's Cross Road. Granted by the council on 17 September 2024. The permission normally runs to September 2029 (an estimate: the grant plus five years).

Timeline

  1. Application lodged
  2. Further information requested
  3. Further information received
  4. Council granted
  5. Permission normally ends (estimate)

The end date is an estimate: the grant plus five years, the normal life of a permission. An extension or a commencement changes it.

Key facts

Reference
3356/24
Planning authority
Dublin City Council
Received
11 Mar 2024
Decided
17 Sept 2024
Status
Granted
Use
Residential
Dwellings
2
Bedrooms
1
Floor area (estimated)
2,100 m²
Read from the description, not stated on the register.
Site area
0.2179 ha
Further information requested
16 Jul 2024
Further information received
21 Aug 2024

Homes and mix

2-bed2
Total homes2

Read from the description, not stated on the register. Shown only where the parts add up to the total.

Proposed development

For development to amend a previously permitted Build-to-Rent residential development (DCC Reg. Ref. 2769/21 / ABP Ref. 311691-21) currently under construction at a site of 0.21 ha (the original site being c. 0.23 ha) at No. 348 Harold's Cross Road, Dublin 6W, D6W VW99 (formerly known as 'Kenilworth Motors'). The site is principally bounded by Laundry Lane to the north, Harold's Cross Road to the east, Kenilworth Manor to the south, and Rosary Park to the west. (The extant planning permission permits inter alia the demolition of the structures on site (with the exception of certain boundary walls) the construction of a part-two, part-three, part-four, part-five storey building accommodating 50 No. apartments, with terraces and or balconies facing east, south and west, and ancillary car parking, waste storage, communal residential facilities, plant/ ancillary areas and all associated works all accessed from Harold's Cross Road and Laundry Lane.) The development will consist of the overall increase in floor area of 148 sq m (from c. 4,900 sq m to 5,048 sq m), including increase at Lower Ground Floor (from 381 sq m to 429 sqm); increase at Upper Ground Floor (from 1261 sq m to 1,296 sq m); increase at First Floor (from 1,291 sq m to 1,301 sq m); increase at Second Floor (from 1,118 sq m to 1,143 sq m) increase at Third Floor (from 849 sq m to 879 sq m). The maximum height of the building remains unchanged (c. 48.50 m). The overall number of units increases by 2 No. (from 50 No. units (4 No. studio units; 42 No. 1-bed units; 2 No. 2-bed/3-persons; and 2 No. 2-bed/4- persons) to 52 No. units (4 No. studio units; 41 No. 1-bed units; 5 No. 2-bed/3-persons; and 2 No. 2-bed/4-persons)). The development will also consist of revisions to the internal layout: increase in floor area at Lower Ground Floor (by 48 sq m) to accommodate the related bicycle store and increased plant area; revised internal layouts of the 3 No. Lower Ground Floor apartment units; revisions to 3 No. permitted 1-bed units to replace with 3 No. 2- bed/3 person units (at Upper Ground, First and Second Floor Levels); provision of 2 No. additional 1-bed apartment units at Upper Ground Floor in lieu of the relocated ancillary gym, bicycle store and plant room; revised layout and reduction in area of communal residential amenities by 59 sq m (from 200 sq m to 142 sq m) (to provide revised gym, workspace, lounge), revised switchroom and lobby layout, omission of store and concierge. The development will also consist of external amendments: alterations to building facades including windows; provision of own door access to the 3 No. Lower Ground Floor units (at the east and the north façades); provision of access door to relocated bicycle store to the north façade off Laundry Lane; revisions to part of the southern boundary treatment; omission of roof plant previously permitted Second Floor Level and provision of maintenance access; alteration to car parking layout (including the reduction in spaces from 8 No. to 7 No.); revisions to cycle parking and pedestrian access to building off Laundry Lane; reduction in floor plate (by 10 sq m) at Second Floor Level, reducing the associated communal open space by 10 sq m (from 69 sq m to 59 sq m); reduction in floor plate (by 6 sq m) at Third Floor Level, reducing the associated communal open space by 6 sq m (from 185 sq m to 179 sq m), and associated reduction in roof slab above. The development will also consist of Sustainable Urban Drainage systems; waste management area; roof plant, including PV panels; associated hard and soft landscaping; and all other associated site excavation, infrastructural and site development works above and below ground including changes in level, boundary treatments and associated site servicing (foul and surface water drainage and water supply) Access to the scheme will be via Harold's Cross Road and Laundry Lane.

Planning status

Permission was granted on 17 Sept 2024. The four-week appeal period has passed with no appeal recorded, so the permission is final. Works can start once a commencement notice is lodged; the permission normally runs to Sept 2029 (estimate).

For the applicant

Is this your application?

Say it is yours and you will see which building firms and trades have asked to work on it, with the contact details they chose to leave. It is free and takes an email address. Nothing is shared with anyone unless you choose to contact them.

Sign in to claim itNo cold calls. Nothing is shared unless you choose to.
Free tool · no account needed

Buying or upgrading a home? Get a free solar, SEAI grant and deep-retrofit report.

Enter an address to see its solar potential, the full SEAI grant it qualifies for, and the BER-uplift economics of a deep retrofit - in one report, in minutes.

Nearby applications

Other applications on the Dublin register close to this address.

All Dublin planning applications

Related

About this page: the facts above come from the statutory public planning register kept by Dublin City Council and are refreshed weekly (last updated 21 Sept 2026). Applicant names and contact details are not shown. Status labels are PlanningLeads' plain-language reading of the register status and the "Use" label is classified by AI from the public description (see how we use AI); neither is legal advice and the council's file is the record. How we handle this data: privacy notice.

Remove my application from this page

If this is your application and you would rather it did not appear here, tell us and we will take the page down. No account, no questions asked: we only email you a link to confirm it was you. This is your right to object under GDPR Article 21.